Steemit Crypto Academy Contest / S11W2 -: Reputation on Steem Blockchain

in SteemitCryptoAcademylast year (edited)
Hi All,

We are in the 2nd week of the 11th season of the Steemit Engagement Challenge, and I am glad to be here to give my humble opinion about this community, where I never participate because my knowledge about crypto is limited. However, I am glad that the topic this week is different and that I can express my views on this crucial topic of user reputation on Steemit.

I invite my respected friends @josevas217, @weisser-rabe @patjewell, and @graceleon for their participation and their expert advice.


Screenshot-_558_.jpg
Image edited in paint using

Let me admit, I dare not post in Steem Crypto Academy because the topics are always blockchain-related and my knowledge is limited. This week it's a little different and related to user reputation on Steemit.

Here is my humble opinion:

ᴡʜᴀᴛ ɪꜱ ʀᴇᴘᴜᴛᴀᴛɪᴏɴ? ʟᴇᴛ ᴍᴇ ᴛʀʏ ᴛᴏ ᴇxᴘʟᴀɪɴ:

First of all, let me accept that reputation is not at all an indicator of the user's seniority or how long he has been here on this platform, but it's all about how active he is and what he posts. I have seen members here who are 5–6 years old but haven't yet reached anywhere, whereas members that joined here recently reached places. This is all about how they post, what they post, and how they post, besides how they interact.

But having said that, I believe-

“Don't mistake activity with achievement.” ― John Wooden


Screenshot (1044).png

𝕎𝕙𝕒𝕥 𝕚𝕤 𝕪𝕠𝕦𝕣 𝕣𝕖𝕡𝕦𝕥𝕒𝕥𝕚𝕠𝕟? 𝕀 𝕨𝕚𝕝𝕝 𝕥𝕣𝕪 𝕥𝕠 𝕖𝕩𝕡𝕝𝕒𝕚𝕟 𝕤𝕥𝕖𝕡-𝕓𝕪-𝕤𝕥𝕖𝕡 𝕙𝕠𝕨 𝕣𝕖𝕡𝕦𝕥𝕒𝕥𝕚𝕠𝕟 𝕚𝕤 𝕕𝕖𝕥𝕖𝕣𝕞𝕚𝕟𝕖𝕕, 𝕨𝕚𝕥𝕙 𝕤𝕔𝕣𝕖𝕖𝕟𝕤𝕙𝕠𝕥𝕤.

I guess Steem Curators play a vital role as they are always looking out for valuable content and never miss any post that is worth their vote. So what I feel is that if the user writes posts that add value to the Steemit platform, his efforts add value to his reputation.

The most important way to increase our reputation is to stay on topic and always aim for a world where content is king and money is secondary. I am proud to be one who understood this point at an early stage of my journey on this platform, and I have touched a respectable reputation score.

Check it out. It took me a little less than 15 months to reach my current reputation score of 72.111.


Screenshot (1043).png

I firmly believe your content is king, and how you interact with seniors help you progress faster than average users. I felt that I was kind of lost in the crowd without anyone to guide me, but then I chanced upon @disconnect and I started seeing light at the other end of the tunnel, and that helped me reach somewhere. When I met and interacted with @josevas217 that gave a boost to my chart of progress at a rapid rate.

So what I feel is that my previous experience of writing came in handy and helped me increase my reputation score and when I say I got the support of seniors on this site, I don't mean that I took any advantage but just grabbed their guidelines and did as other successful authors were doing, following all the guidelines. I know I have had my share of bad experiences, but I always took them as a motivating factor.

Here is a point to notice: If you're right, you need to stay firm on your ground.

𝕎𝕙𝕒𝕥 𝕞𝕖𝕥𝕙𝕠𝕕𝕤 𝕕𝕠 𝕪𝕠𝕦 𝕔𝕦𝕣𝕣𝕖𝕟𝕥𝕝𝕪 𝕦𝕤𝕖 𝕥𝕠 𝕚𝕟𝕔𝕣𝕖𝕒𝕤𝕖 𝕪𝕠𝕦𝕣 𝕣𝕖𝕡𝕦𝕥𝕒𝕥𝕚𝕠𝕟? 𝕀 𝕖𝕩𝕡𝕝𝕒𝕚𝕟 𝕚𝕥 𝕥𝕙𝕚𝕤 𝕨𝕒𝕪:

You might find it funny, but I am not at all a follower of Titans, but I love following those I find interesting. For instance, I follow @josevas217 for his untired activities, his ever-attentive activities, and the way he handles the situation, which has made me his biggest fan. Then I have @wessure-rabe, who is one of my best friends on this site despite us being poles apart in certain matters. However, we respect each other, and I do it for her knowledge about this site and the way she handles situations.

I agree, I don't agree with her on all topics, but then we both listen to each other and reach a conclusion. She and her way of dealing with things are an example, which is another point that has helped me reach where I am on Steemit. I have learned another valid point which I always knew as a seasoned writer: if you run after the money, you lose your reputation. So money is the last thing on my mind, but I am here to earn a reputation.

To earn a better reputation score, I organize three contests every week. I pay the contestants for two, and the third one is taken care of by our community, the Dream Steem.


Screenshot (1041).png


Screenshot (1042).png

Then, as I said, I have yet to withdraw from this site, so I participate in different power-up programs organized by different communities, which help me increase my reputation.

I participate in as many contests as possible, which is yet another way of increasing my reputation.

In fact, I am happier to see my reputation go than my wallet balance, and if my reputation is increasing, my wallet balance is definitely increasing.

I am lucky to have gained a number of upvotes on my posts, including big votes from SC01 and SC02. And to check how my reputation is increasing, I keep an eye on Steemworld, In fact, I keep Steemworld open in one tab on my laptop, which helps me read all the activities in my account. And mind you, Steemworld is not the only website that shows me my activities but I often use Steem7 and Ecosynthesisizer to learn about different activities going on in my account.

ℂ𝕒𝕟 𝕪𝕠𝕦𝕣 𝕣𝕖𝕡𝕦𝕥𝕒𝕥𝕚𝕠𝕟 𝕤𝕔𝕠𝕣𝕖 𝕘𝕠 𝕕𝕠𝕨𝕟?

I think going down one's reputation score is easier than going up. If you're a scammer, spammer, careless, or don't stay on topic, you will definitely gain minus points, and your reputation will go down at a rapid rate. I have not seen many users with negative votes, but the chances are one makes a big mistake and a whale wandering around makes him her prey. So yeah, losing your reputation is easier than gaining it.

Here is a point to notice: Never enter into a conflict if you're not sure what you're talking about.

Thank you all for reading my humble efforts!

banana-leaf-910810_960_720.jpg


Author.png

Sort:  
Loading...

Hi Dev! Thank you for the fitting description of our relationship ;-))

As far as reputation is concerned, I'm afraid once again I don't quite agree with you. In real life, reputation is basically the general standing, the image that someone enjoys. If you are honourable and sincere, do good work and manage your affairs reliably, you have a good reputation...

Here, your (or my, or anyone's) reputation has little to do with oneself. The more stake, the more SP the steemians who vote for you have, the faster your reputation rises. Strange algorithm - the number of votes or the number of comments, the resteems or even the word count in a post don't matter at all - not to mention content and quality.

There are very "old" Steemians who still don't scratch the (60) mark, even though they have been active here since the beginning. No, they are not bad bloggers, no, they were not massively downvoted either. No. They just don't get high votes from the sc accounts or hungry mythical creatures.... And they don't use votebots or delegation services: their vote power also helps get a high reputation very quickly.

Sorry - I have to say it so drastically: the reputation here on the Steem means nothing. The number of followers means nothing - they can all have their own special reasons for following you. And those don't even have to lie in your person... The only thing that has a - non-scalable - value is the exchange via the comments. An intensive communication under a post with many, many (40+) comments that contain more than "please, thank you" and smileys - that is a real scale. Whoever writes posts that encourage - best man or woman!

If you read me once again, probably you will find the same what you are trying to say but without agreeing with me lol! In fact, I have the same feeling that the reputation of a Steemian is different here from how it works in offline life. The only difference is that no one gives you on your forehead offline but they treat you as per your reputation in their minds and here they punch it on your forehead, so there is nothing to disagree with me. Cheers, enjoy your reputation and life here and everywhere else.

TEAM BURN

Your comment has been successfully curated by @jyoti-thelight at 10%.

We invite you to continue publishing quality content. In this way you could have the option of being selected in the weekly Top of our curation team.

team%20burn.png

Burning STEEM by sending it to the @null account helps reduce the supply of STEEM and so increase its price.

Image

As I wrote to another Steemian... it is all about numbers. Not just here in Steemit but also in our lives.
The only numbers I prefer to care about are time and my bank balance, so that I can meet my needs. As for the rest, it is not a numbers game to me.

Here on Steemit, I have found that the less you care about numbers, the votes you receive, the comments you receive, and your reputation, the better your growth. Like Nike would say, "Just do it!"
I've learned over the years never to let numbers complicate your life.

As for you and our German friend, @weisser-rabe. I don't like it.
I LOVE it!

Good luck with the contest, and thank you for the invitation!

Same here, but this post is all about numbers so I must use numbers to tell them about my relation with figures. As I said and firmly believe, (and probably you do the same) money is secondary but what matters is reputation, offline or online. Thanks for your kind visit and feedback.

Loading...

Thankyou @dove11...such a informative post is this
I reads that repotation is only shows with our regular activeness

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Thank you, we all learn as we spend time here.

Yes your are absolutely right...keep growing 💗

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Thank you so much, I wish you the same for you.

Thankyou for your kind blessing💗

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

 last year 

Thank you for taking the time to explain reputation in simple and easy to understand terms.
Reputation is a very important part of every user's blog, having a high reputation as yours is exciting 😃. You take good steps in building your reputation and that is very good, congratulations and best wishes for your entry!

Thank you, I did not want to go into technicalities here because I wanted to keep it simple. I belong to the old school which said KISS (Keep it simple silly) Cheers!

Saya setuju bahwa menurunkan reputasi lebih mudah daripada menaikkannya. Ini butuh kerja keras dan semangat tinggi untuk mendapatkan reputasi yang tinggi.
Secara keseluruhan postingan anda sangat menarik dan dapat dijadikan sebagai acuan.
Terimakasih dan semoga beruntung..

Thank you so much for agreeing with me. I hope they will understand what I mean.

TEAM BURN

Your post has been successfully curated by @jyoti-thelight at 50%.

Thanks for setting your post to 25% for Null.
We invite you to continue publishing quality content. In this way you could have the option of being selected in the weekly Top of our curation team.

team%20burn.png

Burning STEEM by sending it to the @null account helps reduce the supply of STEEM and so increase its price.

Image

Thanks, @jyoti-thelight and TEAM BURN, I appreciate it.

Reputation doesn't shows the seniority here. Instead it shows the quality of the user. It shows how much this user is active here and what is the rate of interaction of him here.

Your post was awesome. I really enjoy reading it. Best wishes for the contest.

Thanks for your kind words. You are right if you want to check the seniority of a user, you will have to check other parameters as well.

As your reputation gradually increases, it will increase further. The more quality content we create, the more our reputation will grow. So good luck for your 72 reputation.

Thank you, as a member with a reputation of 71 you know well that with every increasing reputation point, it takes a lot more effort to go to the next level. But yes, I am working on that. Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60364.09
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57