You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Comprehensive Summary Sheet | Steemit Crypto Academy | Week-1 to Week-5 (Season-3)

in SteemitCryptoAcademy3 years ago

Hello, Professor @sapwood.

You have done an amazing job in compiling names into both black and grey list.

I am very concerned that my name is mentioned on the black list. I had the issue of plagiarism about 3 months ago and since then, i've been more careful when doing homeworks and have even gone ahead to do achievement 3 to understand more about Plagiarism.

I apologise sincerely for having done this in the past even know i have taken corrections and have been better over time. Please what can be done about this situation?

Thank you

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

But you don't feature in the Blacklist, nor in the greylist. Which username you are talking about??

Screenshot_20210806-162928.png

Please check number 20...@chiomy is the username.

Ah, got it.

Yes, dear, as a matter of fact, you plagiarized twice in the academy, please refer to the following two posts:-

(1) https://steemit.com/hive-108451/@chiomy/steemcrypto-academy-week9-homework-post-for-yohan2on

(2) https://steemit.com/hive-108451/@chiomy/steemitcryptoacademy-week-14-homework-post-for-fendit-elliott-wave-theory

Thank you.

I am not oblivious of the fact but these were a long time ago. 3 and 4 months respectively (when i started writing newly in the academy).

I have since become better and even taken the Plagiarism task 3 to improve my writing skills and i haven't had any case of plagiarism in recent times even with all the many homeworks i do.

Please tamper justice with mercy. I apologise sincerely.

I was a newbie when these plagiarisms happened and after been called out, i sought to improve my writing and i've at it ever since including keeping to the rules and regulations of the academy.

It is very sad that what i faulted long time ago is affecting me now. My sincere apologies, please reconsider your decisions.

Thank you

Please note that all first-time offenders are given another chance(Greylist is still curated & rewarded). You should rather ask yourself, what went wrong that you plagiarized twice. If the same thing is happening repeatedly then it's not an inadvertent mistake. Right.

Dear participant, please note that this rule is applicable for all, we can not be impartial on a case-to-case basis.

However, if you believe that you did not plagiarize, then we can re-investigate again.

But if there is evidence of plagiarism(more than once) then as per the existing rule and framework, you will be placed on the blacklist.

I hope it clarifies.

Thank you.

Does this mean i will NEVER be curated and rewarded on cryptoacademy??

As per the existing rule, YES.

If there will be changes in the rule in the future, things will be different.

Thank you.

Hi @sapwood i agree with @chiomy CryptoAcademy should not be too rigid. If there was a change in professors, then plagarism offenders should be fogiven at the end of a season. The laws guiding crypto academy with regards to Greylist and Blacklist should be reviewed. We are here to learn and share how much we have understood. If a child does something wrong, you beat with the left hand and correct with the right hand. We are all imperfect.
Change is always constant. My opinion though.

Hi @sapwood i agree with @chiomy CryptoAcademy should not be too rigid.

We are really sorry Mam, but I think we are the most flexible and lenient, no other platform allows a plagiarist(first-time) to participate again.

Please note that plagiarism is intellectual dishonesty, an insidious act.

  • Original content- levies reward.
  • Plagiarized content(first time)- but do not repeat it again, it's a warning/request, you will still be curated and rewarded.
  • Plagiarized twice- levies punishment. It's intellectual dishonesty.

If there was a change in professors, then plagarism offenders should be fogiven at the end of a season.

No mam, you got it wrong. Detecting plagiarism is not enmity with the individual, rather an obligation of each individual in Steem Blockchain to reinstate the highest stature of PoB(Proof-of-Brain). So regardless of what role you perform, plagiarism is purely classified on the basis of the on-chain evidence. I may not be there in the Academy tomorrow, some other professors may also join the Academy, but the on-chain data will still remain there. The data do not lie. Further Blockchain offers us more transparency and immutability. So it is fair and impartial and can be audited by any one. The Blacklist/Greylist diligently follows the data and evidence to classify a user.

If a child does something wrong, you beat with the left hand and correct with the right hand. We are all imperfect.

Plagiarism is not a child's play, rather an insidious act and intellectual dishonesty to leech the reward pool, it diminishes the idea of proof-of-brain and discouraging for investors and genuine content creators.

I hope it clarifies.

Thank you.

Hi sir @sapwood, this policy will only lead to people creating more accounts that are not functional. Everyone errs even professors, apart from you and few professors, many actually spin their work from wikipedia with no new knowledge added to the students. Is there any policy guiding professors who err?
I have many times used a stronger plagarism checker to check works of most professors, and a lot are plagarized. I still stand on my opinion that the laws guiding greylist and black list be checked if steemit is truly a decentralized system.
Thanks sir.

 3 years ago (edited)

Everyone errs even professors, apart from you and few professors, many actually spin their work from wikipedia with no new knowledge added to the students. Is there any policy guiding professors who err?

You can give the post link and your findings(if you feel uncomfortable, then you can also provide all those details privately over discord sapwood#2079). We will investigate. As I said earlier it is applicable to all, even for me too.

I still stand on my opinion that the laws guiding greylist and black list be checked if steemit is truly a decentralized system.

It sounds a little weird Mam. It's like.... Hey, you do not allow repeat offenders, ahh...you are centralized....You allow repeat offenders, you are the most decentralized platform in line with the spirit of Bockchain.

Tell me Mam, just name any single platform where it is giving a second chance to a plagiarist in a Competition, not just a decentralized platform, just anyone. Even the centralized one too, you can even consider Medium?

Everyone errs even professors

Mam, I would repeat again, plagiarism is intellectual dishonesty.

Profesor le responde a todos menos a mí!

 3 years ago 

Hello Prof, thank you for the well detailed report and analysis thus far. I've continue to admire your level of analytical skills. Wish to learn more if previlleged.

My thoughts here are about the Grey and Black list users. Basically, there shouldn't be any plea bargaining for those in the black list except otherwise stated by the rules.

But if there are new ways to retrain those in this cycle aside just participating in the Newcomers achievement 3, that would go along way in fine-tuning the genuine intentions of some of the users.

Can the academy put up a weekly homework task for this set of people In the blacklist (interested users) for a given period of time to check their level of change and consciousness to plagiarism and if they pass through this test can be allowed to only participate from beginners level and then to other level.

My little thoughts.

Hello professor @sapwood.

Please respond to my messages.

Greetings prof @sapwood !!
please tell me why my account is blacklisted is this done only on the basis of suspicion?
I just copied a little presentation style of @hibbanoor haven't done anything more you can see I didn't do anything other than ....

I admit it's my fault that I copied her style but I didn't do any of her wording etc..
Even if I did something wrong, you should graylist me once, or at least a warning should be given...

Dear prof sapwood You can see that my account has a good reputation and my steem power is also good In the similar summary you gave for season two, I was in the top 10 unique authors of the world..

IMG_20210807_092354.jpg
https://steemit.com/hive-108451/@sapwood/steemit-crypto-academy-or-comprehensive-summary-sheet-season-2-or-proposal-for-season-3

At the end prof @sapwood you keep a close eye on any case of Crypto Academy I do not want to say anything more than this, you are rich, you must have understood my point.

@noraiz is my only account

And this is my request that my account should be greenlisted

Thanks & regards

Steem on

#affable

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75