My entry to Contest // Topic of the week №4 // Are you afraid of death?

in SLON21VEKA2 years ago

image.png

This is a dahlia flower that I took in one of the parks here in the city.

What do you see? Withered flower? Dying flower? Beauty?

We cannot escape death. Sooner or later it will come for us and there is nothing that we can do about it.

This week's topic by @SLON21VEKA is about death Contest // Topic of the week №4 // Are you afraid of death?.

To answer the question, I don't fear death. I have long ago accepted that we will all die. What I have concern about is the process and the things and circumstances that surround it.

If I am to choose how I want to die, I'd rather it would be a painless one. I don't want to suffer as I go. I am already going to leave this world so why should I have to suffer? Not only me. I don't want to see the pain and suffering of the people around me as I die. I don't want that to be my last memory.

When our grandfather died last January, we watched as our sister tried to revive him. We were having a video call that time when suddenly their video went off and next we see is her trying to revive our grandfather. Sadly, it was too late. We were helpless as we can't do anything but just watch the events unfold. The loss, the grief, the pain, the memories, the regrets all came rushing at once like a full force. It was heartbreaking.

That's not how I want to leave this earth. I just want painless and peaceful death.

Just like the flower above, I want to die but still beautiful, still giving color and joy and happiness as I slowly wither, wilt and fade away.

I think I am speaking for everyone when I saw that it is not death itself that we fear. It is the unfulfilled dreams, regrets, failures, things that we are going to miss, people we love that we will no longer see. We fear that when we are gone, no one will remember us.

Once we realize that we are dying, we start looking back and reflect on the wasted years, chances and opportunities and wished we have more time.

So you see, it's not about death itself that I fear. The things that come with it, before it and after it that concerns me more.

That's why always be kind to others. Do what you can to help. Show compassion and love to everyone and everything. Life your life without regrets. Just like the dahlia, give your best as long as you can willingly, with a grateful heart even to your last breath.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67692.01
ETH 3734.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69