I'm tired of pretending!

in Dream Steem7 months ago (edited)

I'm tired
Tired of pretending to be okay when I'm not
Of showing strength when I'm rotting
Going day by day, chores by chores
Listening, hearing, not stopping
Tired of your mood swings
Of being blamed, always held accountable
Never catching my breath
Of judgments
I'm tired
I don't know if I can carry on
My soul is bruised
My body is injured
It can't take more
It can't yield more
It has run its course
But you don't let me rest
You don't let me die
You need me
How can I leave you behind
How will I ever say goodbye
With these strings attached?
Please let me go.
Show me that you can live without me,
So I can leave in peace.
Or is that even an option?
I'm so tired
That my dreams are blurry.
They are no more vivid.
They have lost their charm.
I'm just breathing,
Not living anymore.
I'm now tired of pretending,
Pretending to live,
When I'm dead inside.
IMG_20230710_132412.jpg
finding solace in solitude!

Ps: I wrote this piece in one go: There are so many underlying emotions & mixed feelings. I know someone out there will be able to understand and relate!
Happy living, connect with people!!!

Sort:  
 7 months ago 

I'm sure we all know such situations, such persons and such thoughts... Mostly we are afraid to speak them loud.

Yes, people, thoughts, situations, and emotions are all passing through the screen of my mind with the subject 'TIRED'
But isn't this life? It can make you tired, but you keep going because there's a reason or an incentive. I hope that we never lose our perspective, we never lose that flame to live!!!
There's an African proverb, that says 'When death finds you, may it find you alive.'

I definitely feel the sadness; the resignation; the pain. I know that place... lived there for more years than I care to think about.

Here's hoping your skies get a little brighter, soon!

I feel for you!
@denmarkguy, thank you so much for your kind words.
But I'm in a very good place now. This poem/prose is a collection of thoughts, feelings and reflection from different aspects of our surroundings. Sometimes we are part of those feelings and people and sometimes we witness them from a distance.
Either way, these are bitter realities of life.
But life is also beautiful. We are blessed to have this opportunity of living it...
Regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68362.67
ETH 3798.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49