Contest Story #10: The Homeless

in Dream Steemlast year

image.png
Image from the competition entry

263134BE-FEBD-42D6-AF58-B115E8BBEE82.png

Your story.

Sarah worked as a part-time cook after college every day in this restaurant. She was surprised when she saw this man sitting on the footpath in front of the restaurant that evening. He was a middle-aged man, around 53, in a worn-out pair of trousers and a shirt.

He was shivering but sitting unconcerned with the surroundings, looking at the sky. Then she shrugged her shoulders, thinking he was probably a homeless guy who had nowhere to go.

She felt for this man and gave him some leftover food after her shift that night. Then she saw him often sitting right in front of the restaurant, at the same spot, and felt pity for him. The man acknowledged her kindness every time she gave him food, and she also felt a sense of satisfaction.

He always said, "How kind of you, young lady."

That night, Sarah's shift was finally over at 10. She took off her apron and threw it in her cupboard. But before leaving for the house, she went into the kitchen to get the leftover food for John, the homeless.

As she stepped out of the door, she felt surprised because John was not there at his usual place. Tonight he was standing by the wall and gestured to Sarah to come close to him.

For a moment, Sarah hesitated a little. John was always happy to see her, accept the food she offered, and chat with her about her restaurant, her boss, and her education. But today, she thought he was behaving differently.

My story

In any case, Sarah moved closer to John and handed over the food she had brought. Instead of accepting it, John remain looking at Sarah with a lovely smile on his face. Sarah was surprised to see that he was smiling at her instead of taking the food she had brought.

Sarah asked, with a question mark on her face, "Uncle, you don't want my food today?" "Why are you looking at me differently?" But John remained silent and smiled at her. After a short while, John replied, "My dear young lady, I am not hungry today." "Your kindness, gratitude, and charming smile filled my stomach," he said, laughing loudly. After another ten seconds, Sarah inquired, "Uncle today you are completely different, I can't understand you, and unlike other days, you are in a good mood today." What is the point of it all?" Then John said, "Yes, my dear young girl, I am very happy today." If you don't mind, could you please come with me for a little chat closer to that tree?"

Sarah was too late to go to the boarding house, and she had some assignments to finish for tomorrow's lesson, but she couldn't disagree with John and went with him there.

Then John led her to a large tree shade and asked her to sit there. She sat under a tree in the meadow, holding the food she had brought for John in one hand. "My dear young lady, you are too kind, and you brought me a meal on my behalf every night," John said as he sat closer to her. I filled my stomach with that food, and I enjoyed talking with you because your voice was very pleasant. I have a secret that I haven't told you about. I'd appreciate if you could hear that tonight." Sarah then thought for a moment and said "Uncle I have some assignments to finish. Therefore, I want to go early to my boarding house; if you don't mind, I'll listen to you tomorrow".

John gave Sarah a sharp look, then turned his gaze to the sky, as if given a chance for Sarah to leave. Sarah's heart melted at John's defeated eyes, and she resolved to stay and listen to John. When Sarah mentioned to John that she liked to listen to him, his eyes lit up and he started his story.

He claimed to be a wealthy man, and that his wife died while giving birth to their child. Anna was a baby, and he told her about how he had raised his daughter amidst the difficulties. Anna was a very intelligent, kind, and lovely young lady, and he explained to her how quickly she matured. With tears in his eyes, he explained to Sarah how he had erased the memory of his wife with Anna’s pampering.

Sarah listened to John's story with an open mouth and curious eyes. She forgot everything, about her assignments and the passing of time. John went on to explain to her how he cared for her daughter and how he eventually lost her. He said that his daughter was killed in a car accident on her way home from school. With all of these unfortunate events, John said that he was fed up with his life and tired of it all. He said that every night, he comes to the front of the restaurant and stares at the sky as if he couldn't forget his past.

Sarah was saddened to hear John's story, but she continued to listen without disturbing by his calm voice. John continued his story, telling her that after meeting her, he felt reborn and that her kindness helped him create his daughter's face. Finally, he stated that he would like to adopt her as his own child, that she would no longer be required to work at this restaurant, and that all of his assets would be transferred to her name. He begged her to let him die peacefully in his final days.

As an orphanage girl with no mother or father, as well she couldn't believe it and she was surprised. Sarah fell into deep thought; she wants to help John, but how can she believe him?

In response to Sarah's silence, John raised his voice once more. "If you agree with me, let's file the legal action tomorrow." I hope you feel sorry for me." With that statement, Sarah understood John was trustworthy and she agreed with him. John was delighted and hugged and kissed Sarah and said goodbye, promising to meet her tomorrow at the police station for future work.

The next day, John legally adopted Sarah, and all his assets were transferred to her name. Later, John lived happily under Sarah’s loving care.

image.png
Image source

Though Sarah mistook him for a homeless man, finally, Sarah got a house thanks to John.

263134BE-FEBD-42D6-AF58-B115E8BBEE82.png

I would like to invite @radleking, @solperez, @nainaztengra, and @waqarahmadshah for this contest.

5% @hive-107855

Thank you all for being with me

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year 

A beautifully thought-out story. I have something different in my mind but you beat me at my own idea on this one. Great job!

Much appreciated.

Wow, you must have spent a lot of time creating such a beautiful story! I wrote something similar too. You should check it out! Good luck in the contest! 😊

Yes, I just finished reading yours, and it is also a very nice story. The difference is that we think in a different way. Good luck with the contest.

 last year 

Happy ending!

Yes, all of my stories ended happily, because I am optimistic about everything.

Very touching story I wish you the very best of luck in the contest

Thank you for reading my post and leaving such kind comments.

Congratulations! This is an additional prize for being a winner in this contest.

TEAM MILLIONAIRE

Your post has been successfully curated by @disconnect at 30%.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60295.64
ETH 3298.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37