Wasted Opportunity, in two letters. | Advent-Contest Nr.2 | [es-en]

in Dream Steem10 months ago

carta1.jpg
Imagen de mi galería en ideogram.ai [1]

Oportunidad Perdida

#shortstory en dos cartas | [es]

"Advent-Contest Nr.2 by @weisser-rabe


Yo

coollogo_com-222613611.gif

Espero que al recibo de esta carta te encuentres bien. Me atreví a escribirte lleno de recuerdos y sentimientos que han permanecido en mi mente y corazón desde que nuestras vidas se cruzaron.

Han pasado muchos años querida Hortensia, casi de treinta creo, pero cada instante que compartí contigo sigue presente en mis pensamientos como si fuera ayer. Recuerdo tus risa, tu mirada cómplice y las claras señales que me indicaban que podría haber algo más entre nosotros, si, yo daba el primer paso.

Querida Hortensia, no avancé en esa dirección, me contuve. En aquel entonces, estaba dividido. Sabías de mi compromiso con Margarita, tu amiga, tu mejor amiga. Ya yo le había dado mi promesa antes de conocerte.

Me sentí atrapado entre ser leal a ella y el deseo de estar contigo, entre el compromiso y el amor que sentía creciendo dentro de mí cada vez que te veía.

Me llegaste a conocer un poco, y sabrás de mi facilidad para caer en la duda. Me detuvo la frustración y el temor a lo que dirían nuestras familias, si terminaba con Margarita por ti y, sobre todo, a cómo te sentirías tú si te revelaba mis verdaderos sentimientos.

Temí que pudieras sentir que te usaba o que dudarás de si mi amor por ti era real o simplemente un capricho del momento. Por eso, decidí callarme y mantener mi promesa, aunque mi corazón te ansiaba .

El tiempo pasó, querida Hortensia, y la vida me ha cambiado. Hace dos años perdí a mi esposa por el Covid, una pérdida que me dejó un vacío profundo en el alma. Ahora, me encuentro solo, reflexionando sobre las decisiones que tomé y los sentimientos que dejé sin expresar.

Es en este punto de mi vida te escribo, Hortensia, con la esperanza de que puedas encontrar en tu corazón la posibilidad de un nuevo comienzo. Me pregunto si estarías dispuesta a permitirme un acercamiento amoroso, una oportunidad para explorar lo que pudo haber sido y no fue, (como dice aquella canción). Hortensia ¿habría la posibilidad de un “Nosotros” en el futuro?

Sé que es un pedido audaz y fuera de tiempo, pero mi corazón aún guarda un lugar especial para ti. Me gustaría tener la oportunidad de demostrarte que mi amor es real, una oportunidad genuina de construir algo hermoso juntos.

Permíteme soñar, Hortensia, con que nuestros corazones se reencuentren en la felicidad que tanto anhelan. No sé qué deparará el destino, pero estoy dispuesto a tomar ese riesgo si tú estás dispuesta a hacerlo también.

Con todo mi cariño y esperanza,

Tuyo por siempre

J.L.


bannepeq.png


Ella

coollogo_com-40612244.gif

Espero estés bien. Jose, sinceramente estoy sorprendida, (aún no se si para bien), de recibir noticias tuyas después de tanto tiempo. Me conmovió mucho leer tus palabras y recordar aquellos momentos que compartimos hace ya treinta años. Parece que fue ayer cuando estábamos en nuestros veinte, llenos de sueños e ilusiones en la facultad.

Al leer tu confesión sobre “lo que pudo haber sido y no fue”, debo admitir que me sorprendió la demora en expresármelo. Nunca imaginé que hubieses guardado esos sentimientos durante tanto tiempo. Es cierto que en aquel entonces, hubo momentos en los que sentí tu interés y apertura hacia mí. Sin embargo, también recuerdo tus dudas y tu compromiso con mi mejor amiga y luego tu esposa Margarita. Aunque no lo entendí en ese momento, ahora comprendo tus motivos y el peso que llevabas en tu corazón. Y me sale preguntarte: ¿Llegaste verdaderamente a ser feliz en tu matrimonio?

Jose, (aún recuerdo como te llamaba), la vida nos ha llevado por distintos caminos. Me alegra saber que en dos años, has superado la muerte de Margarita y que ahora estás buscando un nuevo comienzo. Sin embargo, debo ser sincera contigo. Durante todos estos años, construí una hermosa familia con el hombre que llegó a mí, poco después de “nuestra despedida”, así llamé a tu ahora entendible silencio.

Al leer tu invitación de reiniciar una relación, debo decirte que mi corazón ya no siente lo mismo por ti. Aunque una vez me gustaste y no me habría importado correr una aventura contigo, la vida siguió su curso y mis sentimientos cambiaron. Mi esposo y mis hijos (que ahora ingresan a la universidad) son mi mayor alegría y prioridad en la vida. Me siento plena y feliz con ellos, y no deseo poner eso en peligro.

Espero que comprendas mi posición y que puedas encontrar la paz y la felicidad que buscas. A veces, el camino hacia la soledad puede ser un viaje necesario para aprender a amarse a uno mismo y encontrar la plenitud en la vida. Te deseo lo mejor en tus futuros proyectos y te envío mis bendiciones.

Con cariño,

Hortensia



bannepeq.pngbannepeq.pngbannepeq.png



English Version

carta1.jpg
Imagen de mi galería en ideogram.ai [1]

Wasted Opportunity

#shortstory in two letters. | [en]

"Advent-Contest Nr.2 by @weisser-rabe


Me

coollogo_com-222613838.gif

I hope that upon receipt of this letter you feel well. I dared to write to you full of memories and feelings that have remained in my mind and heart since our lives crossed.

Many years have passed, dear Hortensia, almost thirty I think, but every moment I shared with you is still present in my thoughts as if it were yesterday. I remember your laughter, your knowing look and the clear signs that told me that there could be something more between us, yes, I took the first step.

Dear Hortensia, I did not move in that direction, I held back. Back then, I was divided. You knew about my engagement to Margarita, your friend, your best friend. I had already given her my promise before I met you.

I felt trapped between being loyal to her and the desire to be with you, between commitment and the love I felt growing inside me every time I saw you.

You got to know me a little, and you will know how easy it is to fall in doubt. I was stopped by frustration and fear of what our families would say, if I broke up with Margarita for you and, above all, how you would feel if she revealed my true feelings to you.

I feared that you might feel like she was using you or that you would doubt whether my love for you was real or just a whim of the moment. For this reason, I decided to remain silent and keep my promise, although my heart yearned for you.

Time has passed, dear Hortensia, and life has changed me. Two years ago I lost my wife to Covid, a loss that left a deep void in my soul. Now, I find myself alone, reflecting on the decisions I made and the feelings I left unexpressed.

It is at this point in my life that I write to you , Hortensia, hoping that you can find in your heart the possibility of a new beginning. I wonder if you would be willing to allow me a loving approach, an opportunity to explore what could have been and was not, (as that song says). Hortensia Would there be a possibility of an “Us” in the future?

I know it is a bold and outlandish request of time, but my heart still has a special place for you. I would like the opportunity to show you that my love is real, a genuine opportunity to build something beautiful together.

Allow me to dream, Hortensia, about what Our hearts meet again in the happiness they long for. I don't know what fate will bring, but I am willing to take that risk if you are willing to do so too.

With all my love and hope,

Yours forever

J.L.



bannepeq.png

She

flamingtext__28558930156774948.gif

I hope you are well. I was honestly surprised, (I still don't know if it's for the better), to receive news from you after so long. I was very moved to read your words and remember those moments we shared thirty years ago. It seems like yesterday when we were in our twenties, full of dreams and hopes in college.

When reading your confession about “what could have been and was not”, I must admit that I was surprised by the delay in expressing it to me. I never imagined you would have kept those feelings for so long. It is true that back then, there were moments when I felt your interest and openness towards me. However, I also remember your doubts and your commitment to my best friend and then your wife Margarita. Although I didn't understand it at the time, now I understand your motives and the weight you carried in your heart. And I get to ask you: Did you truly become happy in your marriage?

Jose, (I still remember what I called you), life has taken us down different paths. I'm glad to know that in two years, you've gotten over Margarita's death and that you're now looking for a new beginning. However, I must be honest with you. During all these years, I built a beautiful family with the man who came to me, shortly after “our goodbye”, that's what I called your now understandable silence.

As I read your invitation to restart a relationship, I must tell you that my heart no longer feels the same way about you. Although I once liked you and wouldn't have minded having an adventure with you, life moved on and my feelings changed. My husband and children (now entering college) are my greatest joy and priority in life. I feel full and happy with them, and I don't want to jeopardize that.

I hope you understand my position and that you can find the peace and happiness you seek. Sometimes the path to loneliness can be a necessary journey to learn to love yourself and find fulfillment in life. I wish you the best in your future endeavors and send you my blessings.

With love,

Hortensia


bannepeq.pngbannepeq.pngbannepeq.png




bannepeq.png

Fuentes

Bases del Concurso: "Advent-Contest Nr.2 by @weisser-rabe

Sources & Imágenes, I used: [1] ideogram.ai and [2] Flaminteg.com for text


bannerggg.png

Original production by @joslud

I'll wait for you in the next publication.
Sort:  

That's wonderful! It has romantic and very sad aspects, but this letter is a revelation. These letters are a revelation - the reply also seems very affectionate and emotional to me. Such an exchange of letters is only possible between mature and reflective people...

Greetings @weisser-rabe

Thanks for your appreciation, it was a bit difficult to decide how she would respond. I think that if I were in her shoes, she would have reacted with anger at the years of silence. (Who does this man think he is to come and ask me to come back to him, because he was widowed? XD)
But I said, and if she responded assertively... that return was going to cause more effect in him.

I would be very happy to receive such a letter from someone from the past! It would be flattering and it shows respect and appreciation to make such a late confession. No reproaches, no negative thoughts...

Very nice. Is it a true story? If so, i wish for the hole in your heart to be filled (by you).

Hello @atma.love

I built a fictional story with real experiences from my story, but in essence it is my life. I think that that void has somehow given me depth, and I have learned to fill it on my own.

Thanks for reading and commenting.

Congratulations!
This post has been supported through the account Steemcurator06 for containing good quality content.


Curated by : @ridwant

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65897.19
ETH 2706.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88