"Keyword of the Week"/FIERY ZEAL

in Dream Steemlast year (edited)
The day was breaking. But the snow had not stopped falling yet.

Antony could not sleep all night. He was now sitting near the door. Just then, Martyn came in and looked at Antony for a long time with a compassionate look. Antony asked, "What is it?"


pexels-photo-4586228.jpeg
Source

Martyn said in a sad voice, "Antony, do you believe in God?"

Antony asked in astonishment, "Why?"

"Nothing. Maybe you should pray!" Saying this, Martyn placed a message slip in front of Antony.

Antony looked at the paper, picked it up, read it, and said nothing but smile.

It was written in the message: "The order of the court martial is to shoot the accused immediately." - General Bora

Antony asked quietly, "Then?"

Martyn could not speak. Antony again asked, "What time will it be?"

"Six in the morning. The soldiers are getting ready!" Then he paused for a while, saying, "Antony, it's beyond my control. I could not save you despite my best efforts."

"Nothing, don't worry, I know that it was my ultimate fate."

"Yes, I already know."

Martyn looked intently at Antony, trying to recognize his expression. But Martyn could not penetrate the veil of innocent calmness on Antony's face.

Then he asked, "Antony, why didn't you ask for a pardon?"

Antony replied absentmindedly, "It is better that we sacrifice our inalienable lives than if a feeling arises in anyone's mind that even a single revolutionary in this country is selfish."

He stopped for a moment and then said, "For me, ʄɨɛʀʏ ʐɛǟʟ is more than anything else, nothing else matters for me."

Martyn could sense pride in his voice, but he said, "I don't understand!"

"Conscience is a greater inspiration for me."

Antony did not feel the need to explain more than this. Martyn was leaving when Antony said softly, "What can I expect from these selfish politicians?"

The sun was about to break out. The wind had slowed down, but it was partly cloudy, and snow was still falling as softly as tiny cotton balls.

Behind the prison cell, under a leafless tree, stood eight soldiers with guns. The soldiers had their guns drawn. Antony was not looking at those guns. He was looking at their faces, he didn't try to avert his eyes, as if he were not afraid to look into their eyes.

Antony fell silent when he saw that there was some awakening among the soldiers. Antony looked at them with waiting eyes, then exclaimed, "Long live my country, long live revolution, down down with corrupt politicians!"

He was now waiting for the bullet to hit him and end his life.

I invite
@waqarahmadshah
@leonciocast

Baneficiary @dream.socialclub

Sort:  
 last year 

Yes, that's the thing about heroes and martyrs... I understand their attitude, even admire them to some extent. But they don't serve their purpose, do they?

Ja, das ist so eine Sache mit den Helden und Märtyrern... Ich verstehe ihre Haltung, bewundere sie teilweise sogar. Aber ihrem Ziel dienen sie nicht, oder?

 last year 

They do, and if it was not for them we would be still slaves of politicians like.... Names (????)

This is a masterpiece!

 last year 

This is reality!

 last year 

Since we do not know what this mysterious "FIERY ZEAL" might be, we cannot understand the goals of Antony and are not able to judge his motives or aims...

 last year (edited)

So true, since we do not know the meaning and aim of this FIERY ZEAL, we have our own choice of interpretation about it! Right? I will write more and see how it turns out to be.

 last year 

I'm curious about that!!

 last year 

I love doing experiments in fiction so expect it by tomorrow, thanks for your interest in my humble efforts!

 last year 

Oh, I confused seal with zeal...!

So I had to re-read your story. In regard to fiery Zeal, it reads much more coherent and consistent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68