Contest, Week XII - "The Journey of Kadim" : Why Should I Go Back Home- Part 8?

in Dream Steem9 months ago (edited)

You have read up to here in part7

Major Atan added, "Once when I was coming by train, I overheard a captain returning from leave who was narrating his leave experience to one of his companions. I was not paying attention, but suddenly one thing got imprinted on my consciousness, and its memory now haunts me.
I can still recollect his words and connect them with my own life.

Concluding Part:8

I had a strange feeling in my mind because I knew Major Atan's damaged backbone would never allow him to act naturally. Now I knew what Major Atan had in mind.

Major Atan was still looking out of the window while telling me, "Once when I was coming by train, I overheard a captain sitting in the back seat returning from leave. He was narrating his leave experience to one of his companions. I was not paying much attention, but suddenly one thing got imprinted on my consciousness, and its memory now haunts me. I can still recollect his words and connect them with my own life.


pexels-pixabay-236741.jpg
Source

That captain was smiling and saying, "You know, getting leave was never easy due to war, but this month I was lucky as they approved me leave for ten days. I called my wife and gave her the information about the dates."

His companion said, "Wow, lucky you."

The captain smiled. "But my wife said that you should extend your leave by one week. At first, I was shocked, but she said that out of ten days, at least three days you would be traveling, and out of the remaining seven days, I don't want three or four to be wasted for nothing."

His companion was surprised, but when he understood the meaning, he laughed aloud.

Major Atan stopped for a while and then said, "I now feel that I am going home permanently, but I have no use of my permanent leave."

I knew what he meant, so I said, "In war, all the virtues and vices of a man are manifested in extreme form. The difficulty is that when virtues appear, they take you to the face of death, whereas vices bring you back safely. We should take steps against the war. War has no solution. After every war, man returns poorer in character."

Major Atan said sarcastically, "But they say that bitter experience strengthens the character."

"Yes, but those who become stronger do not go back home." I bit my tongue while saying this, but the words were already out of my mouth.

I could see the reaction in Major Atan's eyes suddenly contracting deep as if my words had hit him deeply and he felt hurt. I regretted saying so.

He said, "Thank you, Major! We are here, so nice to be for a nice company and for dropping me at the station. Thank you very much."


rc-5051961_1280.jpg
Source

I felt sorry for Major Atan because maybe he will undergo a long treatment before being able to move his back, and even that is not for sure. I helped him board his train and gave final instructions to his attendant, who had already arrived there. He took charge of him and saluted me.

Major Atan gave me a departing smile, I returned the smile and saluted him. as I came out of the station, started my Jeep, and moved towards the cantonment. But I was still thinking about Major Atan, 35, he had to go back home, retired hurt.

Sort:  
 9 months ago 

A bitter end, but at the same time not without hope.

 9 months ago 

Maybe, but I know this is a true story that I heard during my stay in an army mess. I have just modified it and spiced up a bit.

 9 months ago 

Yes, I think there are a lot of similar stories about veterans... I still cannot see the heroism in going to war....

TEAM BURN

Your post has been successfully curated by @inspiracion at 45%.

Thanks for setting your post to 25% for Null.
We invite you to continue publishing quality content. In this way you could have the option of being selected in the weekly Top of our curation team.


image.png

Burning STEEM by sending it to the @null account helps reduce the supply of STEEM and so increase its price.

 9 months ago 

Thank you so much, I appreciate your support @inspiracion 🎉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64927.90
ETH 3519.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38