Review on the book: "Pollyanna" by Eleanor Porter

in Dream Steem3 months ago

Hello, dear members of the community! Today I would like to introduce the readers to the book, the main character of which impressed me with her radiant behavior and is still one of my favorite book protagonists.


Photo by dovidka.biz.ua

This is Eleanor Porter's "Pollyanna".
The book is usually read by children and teenagers, but I recommend the novel to the adults as well.

In one interview, Eleanor Porter was reproached for taking life too easy. To this she replied:

"I have never believed that the existence of difficulties, suffering and evil should be denied. It's just that, in my opinion, it is much better to perceive the unknown cheerfully and joyfully."

At the beginning of the book, the author introduces us to a girl with such a strange name. It was given by her mother, who died soon after Pollyanna was born, and our protagonist was left with her father. He was a priest and from childhood grew in his sincere faith, love for light, gratitude and sensitivity in his daughter.

The family lived on the verge of poverty. Pollyanna and her father often ate in a local charity canteen, the girl had very few clothes. However, she grew up surprisingly happy and friendly.

There wasn't a thing in life that Pollyanna wasn't thankful for. She called this approach to life: "a game of joy." Once, as a holiday gift from a charitable foundation, Pollyanna received... crutches, and said:

"- Be glad that these crutches... are not needed!"


Photo by Paul Davies

It was not always easy to be happy:

"...like when dad goes to Heaven, and there is no one left in life, except Women's Aid."

However, having a strong personality, Pollyanna not only rejoices herself, but also brightens the lives of those around her. She manages to comfort her strangely strict aunt, who seemed to be a hopeless misanthrope. She also proceeds to solve a family secret...


Photo by Paul Davies

Near the end of this story, the girl's will is broken due to illness, but not for long. Pollyanna finds the strength to light people up again.

This is a story about faith, gratitude, and the indomitability of the soul. As for an Orthodox Christian, it has even influenced my spiritual path, convincing me that gratitude is a very important characteristic. I advise everyone to read this book.

By the way, the book has a sequel, which I higly recommend to read :)
Thank you for the attention!

Sources: naurok.ua, ua. history.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Sort:  

Welcome to Dream Steem!

I remember the book. I read it with my children a long time ago... And there was a film version, I think. With a somehow changed storyline but the same message...

Thank you for a welcome message! Yes, I think there really was a film.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54