You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ‘Island’ the Band – A Tale of Drunkenness and Live Music!

It was dawning on all of us that this was the support group, not the main act.

That is so funny! I've had something similar, and wasn't even drinking at the time. Yeeeeeaaaaars ago at I Love Techno in Belgium, there were really only DJ's that were my reason for going.

We headed for the different stages, trying to get to the main stage as closely as we could, because I had the program for the line-up in my hands and 'knew what I was doing'...
Little did I know that they had changed the times a little, and had announced this. (Who listens to announcements anyway?)

Sure enough, this DJ was playing. His music was great but we were waiting for the one and first one on my list: Carl Cox. Call it whatever you want but in my world, somehow I was expecting a white guy. The internet wasn't quite what it is now just yet so there was no way to do any research other than from some event posters.

I became a little impatient because the program mentioned that he should have been on by now. I walked up to the DJ booth to ask some of the staff that was running around. I stopped one of the hard working men and asked:
"When is Carl Cox coming on?" He looked at me in disbelief, a little annoyed, and without a word he pointed at the DJ. We had been listening to Carl Cox all along!

But it gets worse! The headlining DJ was Laurent Garnier who is, to this day, my all time favourite DJ. Whenever he played in Holland, his performance was 'meh' at best due to restrictions the event planners would put on his playlist. However, when he played in other countries, he was an absolute DJ-GOD.
So that night, there was a female DJ playing by the name Marusha. She was pouring her heart and soul into her playlist, so we just couldn't get enough of her. Now, according to my program, she'd be finishing up by the time Laurent Garnier came on which gave us the chance to see most of both.
However, she played on a little longer. Of course we didn't catch this because...well...circumstances. So by the time she was done and we managed to make our way to the other hall to catch Laurent Garnier, he had been playing for over an hour and we just barely managed to catch the last two tunes he played.

The whole night was still worth it, of course, but we missed the one DJ I had been raving about for so long. Luckily it wasn't the last time I saw him play.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77