OST of the Day #58: Overcooked! - Menu Theme 👨‍🍳

in INVEN Gaming4 years ago

Hey Steemit!

OSTs are really underrated but they're so good, so I thought I'd share a song a day and my thoughts about it! I highly recommend listening while reading! 😊

I wasn't able to post a TacoCat's TrEats post on Wednesday (which if you didn't know, is my foodie series where I participate in tasteem contests), since tasteem is currently down with the move to hive and all that.

So, I thought I'd do a foodie related song today! And of course, the first game I thought of was Overcooked!

image.png
Source: Game Academia Singapore

If you've never seen this game before, Overcooked! is a cooking simulation game developed by Ghost Town Games and published by Team17. It is a chaotic couch co-op cooking game for 1-4 players, where you control chefs in kitchens filled with various obstacles and hazards. Working as a team, you and your fellow chefs must prepare, cook and serve up a variety of tasty orders before the paying customers storm out in a huff. The game was released for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One in 2016. And a Nintendo Switch version was released on July 27, 2017.

Overcooked! received positive reviews upon release, and was nominated for four awards at the 13th British Academy Games Awards, eventually winning two for Best British Game and Best Family Game. A sequel, Overcooked! 2, was released in August 2018.

image.png
Source: godisageek

I played Overcooked! back in 2018 with my fam and bf and I remember having so much fun with it! After a while it was just me and bf playing and we completed it 100% (with all 12 achievements) in 20 hours so it's not too long a game. I'd say it's definitely very chaotic when more people are involved though. Mistakes get made, relationships are tested, and probably a lot of shouting and screaming will be had. But fun all around!

I loved the first game so much, and I was really looking forward to the sequel. I think a lot of people would be more familiar with Overcooked! 2, since it's the more recent one, but having played both games (1 on Steam and 2 on Switch), I can arguably say that Overcooked! 1 is soooo much better than the sequel. I can probably write a whole other post on why I think that is, and I might at some point, but let's not dwell on that for now.

image.png
Source: wallpapercave

I think what a lot of people might miss in playing Overcooked! is the soundtrack! When you're too busy trying to get through the orders in these crazy kitchens you end up not paying attention to the music, but it's so good so I thought I'd share one of my favourite songs today!

This is the main theme of Overcooked! and is the very first song you'll hear when you start up the game.

It's not what you would expect from a cooking game, but I like to think of it as the "calm before the storm". This song is so relaxing and chill; perfect for lulling you into a false sense of security before the craziness begins.

This song definitely gives off that Italian-style cafe vibe though, perfect for how the main menu looks. Geddit, cos it actually looks like a menu! Or a recipe book I guess, since it's supposed to be a kitchen.? 🤔 But that seems like such a missed opportunity.

image.png
Source: The LAN Mob Blog

The acoustic guitar paired with the piano as the harmony and the harmonica with the melody make such a good trio! I don't think I've ever heard any other game song that uses this pairing but they're so great together! And the xylophone during the bridge is a nice touch too. The harmonica is quite prominent, but I like to think that's kinda like the head chef (because there's always one on every team), guiding the others to victory.

The song being in minor key kinda makes it sound a little sad too. Like it's calm, but with a hint of sadness, making it hauntingly beautiful. And it actually made me tear up a little bit. I read a lot of comments saying this song actually reminded them of another song called, "Time in a Bottle" by Jim Croce. So I listened to it and it definitely does!

It's a really nice song, and the message is to cherish your time with the people you love. Apparently, Jim Croce wrote this for his son whom he never got to see because he died shortly after this song was released, which gives this song so much more meaning, and sadness.

Anyway, the main theme for Overcooked! was composed by Christian Marsac, and it's just so beautiful; there are quite a few covers on Youtube! Including this amazing jazz one I found from The Consouls!

I've actually been thinking of streaming a solo playthrough of Overcooked! and I probably will some day, when I get my setup all up and running. But that won't be for quite a while. I can't wait though!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!

Check out my previous post in this series!

OST of the Day #57: Animal Crossing: New Horizons - 9 AM

Sort:  

This post has been rewarded by the Steem Community Curation Project. steemcurator02(#communitycuration02)

thanks so much for the upvote @steemcurator02! ^-^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35