Among the pages of books are not only words but also knowledge and life📝 📖📚🧠

in Sri Lanka-ශ්‍රී ලංකා3 years ago

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-14 at 17.38.03.jpeg

I am addicted to reading books.📖📝📝📝 I get so much advice from books. literature takes us to a different world. They are able to create even experiences we have not experienced through live characters.

“Gamperaliya'' is a turning point in the history of Sinhala novels. 📚📚 Throughout the story, it represents social environments that change due to caste. This book was written by Martin Wikramasinghe.✍️✍️ He was named as “ හෙළයේ මහා ගත්කරු”.🙏🙏

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-14 at 17.33.27.jpeg

As I think the most interesting and emotional part of this book is this. Piyal, who came to teach English language to Nanda, loved her. He gave some letters to her. Nanda was also loving him but she never told that to him. When Nanda's mother saw those letters she asked where did she throw the letters. Nanda replied like this. “ I threw all the letters into the almari”!!! See guys!! She didn't like to show her love.😍😍😍 But she loved Piyal. She was being penury in front of their patriarchy.

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-14 at 17.35.01.jpeg

In this era, Sri Lankan society built up with caste systems.This sidy epoch - making story speaks about no one can divide by their caste. Martin Wickramasinghe used so many powerful symbols to show this senseless castle system in that era.

I think after Martin Wikremasinghe, there are so many very talented writers today. Of those , I was most impressed by Mahinda Prasad Masibula. He speaks our deap heart through his writings . He is also a poet. He is a broad minded person, not a narrow minded person . His latest book called “ අපොයියාව” ( Apoiyawa) is a wonderful writing and so different from other novels. These days I am reading this second time. I really love this because it’s theme is so unique. The content of this book built up with a conundrum. A young child finding words with his grandma to get the win by filling that. The author has expressed his views by manipulating his talent very well. I think words are bound up in our lives. Sometimes we even forget the words we know best. This can be imagined for our life . Sometimes when we face a problem we don't get simple solutions even though we know the solution. The author expresses these valuable things in this book.📕 📗 📘 📙

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-14 at 17.36.23.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-14 at 17.36.49.jpeg

Next one is “සෙංකොට්ටං” ( senkottan). This is one of most beautiful books that I have read. It shows the villagers living in a difficult area where poverty and ignorance are mixed with their bitter lives. The story is so powerful that it evokes sympathy for that society. Masibula is a character who is not limited as he presents creations through different story themes. He always thinks out of the box.🧠🧠🧠

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-14 at 17.37.51.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-14 at 17.37.58.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-14 at 17.38.12.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-14 at 17.38.03.jpeg

So my dear friends, If you can read these books. Reading books make you as a knowledgeable person.
In my lessuire time, I make a habit of writing down my thoughts on a piece of paper. I suggest you do this too. No ability required. Do not think that you can not wirte beautifully . It doesn't matter if it is your own experience. It will be a beautiful thing for others.

Hope you all are enjoyed this. Stay safe friends.

#steemit-srilanka #steemexclusive #steemit #contest
Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Yes Indeed.

If you can read these books. Reading books make you as a knowledgeable person.

The addiction is a bad habit but addicting for reading books is worth than anything which we can gift to someone whom we love. My reading of books is not in good condition as I don't spend time on it. I doubt that, whether I may able to fix this issue.

 3 years ago 

@nilumadu ,
You have nice 3 collection of books and already read gamperaliya and senkottan novel.
In 2012 senkottan is the most popular book in sri lanka and its have so many prizes.
Hope you enjoy proper way this lock down period.😊

#slbmc

 3 years ago 

yes you correct . I think senkottan is based on different story. Thanks for your comment inudi.

 3 years ago 

I’m not a person who reads books as you guys. But I read some books in my school days. Actually, these days we don’t have a time even to read a book. But however I must find a time to read books. If I read a book, I prefer to read ‘senkottan’ now.

#slbmc

 3 years ago 

Yeah. Senkottan one of my favorites . If you have the time read it friend 🙂

 3 years ago 

I did have a good habbit of reading books. But unfortunately I l lost that good habbit due to the busy life of mine.Even I do not know the books that are popular in these days. So your article makes me think once again to create the the habit of reading books. Thank you!!!

#slbmc

 3 years ago 

Happy to hear that you are thinking again about reading books . I hope you can find the time from your busy life.

සෙංකොට්ටං is one of the best I have read also..

 3 years ago 

Yes , that’s true.

Reading is one of my hobbies.. Thank you for sharing your experiences

 3 years ago 

Thanks dulip

 3 years ago 

Im also addicted for reading books. Thanks for letting us know about these books

 3 years ago 

It's a good habit. Thanks for your comment

 3 years ago 

image.png

You have been upvoted by @damithudaya, A Country Representative from Sri Lanka. We are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update. You can also check out this link which provides the name of the existing community according to specialized subject.

 3 years ago 

I have a collection of Sir Martin Wickramasinghe's books and I also have read "senkottan" and "manikkawatha" of Sir Masibula. Both of those writers can make us cry by their books.

Manikkawatha is the second part of Senkottan. Have you read it? There was a cross over moment in that book.

#slbmc

 3 years ago 

yes!! I have already read it , such an amazing books. Happy to hear that you also have a collection of books . Love that. ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58148.81
ETH 2345.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35