Ruwanweliseya sthupa

in Sri Lanka-ශ්‍රී ලංකා3 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians,today I'm going to write about "Ruwanweliseya sthupa" in secret city of Anuradhapura.

2021-03-24-18-15-25-385.jpg

The Ruwanweliseya stupa is hemispherical structure which contains relics of Gothama Buddha's.stupa contains so many relics in it.it was built by King Dutugemunu,Hero of the ancient era (161 - 137 B.C).it in as known as by 'Swarnamali Maha Chethi,Rathnapali Seya and Maha Chethi'.stupa's affiliation is Theravada Buddhism.Geographic coordinaters are the 8°21'0"N 80°23'47"E.This is the one of 'Atamasthana' and 'Solosmasthana'.

Polish_20210512_080955593.jpg

I go on a pilgrimage with my best friend every day to seek our mental healing because we all suffer from exam panic. One day I decided to go to Ruwanweliseya with some of my friends.I met some injured street dogs and monkeys.I was able to give them a small meal. I bought food for them with the money I had collected.

Polish_20210512_062007430.jpg

Polish_20210512_211221462.jpg

I went to the stupa one evening with my family.A Bodhi Pooja and Adishtana Pooja were held for a sick relative until midnight.A Pirith recital was held for the benefit of the our future.As the evening dawns, the stupa is adorned with beautifully coloured light bulbs. Undoubtedly, the sight brings solace to the heart and mind.Ruwanweliseya is one of my favorite places to go in my life. According to my mother, there are many miracles in Seya.

Polish_20210512_210738951.jpg

"සයිංසු යස්මිං සුගතස්ස ධාතු
නිම්මාය රංසුජ්ජල බුද්ධ රූපං
සුවණ්ණමාලිති පතීතනාමං
වන්දාමහං ථූපවරං මහග්ඝං"

I look forward to sharing this knowledge with you today and in the future.stay safe and blessed thank you..!

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I have gone to Ruwanweliseya twice. We went there for the first time in a sunny day noon and we couldn't worship properly because of the heat. Luckily second time we went in an evening and it was so calm.
I also have seen those monkeys and dogs.

This is also a one of those places which make me wonder about the knowledge of our ancestors on technology and architecture.

#slbmc

It is damn true my dear.😇

 3 years ago 

From my point of view, this is the most sacred place in the world. If I am correct, this is a shrine that every Buddhist has worshipped at least once. I had visited many times to this place and calm and tranquility of this place surely heal our souls.

#slbmc

Yes, that's right. It has many miracles and is a place of solace.😇

 3 years ago 

This is one of the sacred places in Sri-Lanka and also this proved to us how much developed technology that we had for centuries before with our ancestors. I am sure that there is no single Buddhist live in here who has not visited this sacred place at least once.

Yes, of course this is a guarantee of such a historic shrine.😇

 3 years ago (edited)

Once every year our family is going to observe "Ruwanweliseya" which is next to Jaya Sri Maha Bodhiya. After every time I visit this place, I can feel that my mind was very free. If anyone worships in the evening, then he/she can feel the calmness out there.

#slbmc

You're correct 😍

 3 years ago 

I have gone there with my relatives years ago like
when I go to school. I remember these poor animals were there when we were there. We too gave them food and we were watching how they enjoy it.
I was hoping to go there this month but now it won't work with this pandemic situation. If I go there I rather go at night because I love the vibe around the ruwanweliseya at night.

#slbmc

Yep.night vibe is the best feeling 😍

 3 years ago 

@dilshara,
My childhood was spend in anuradhapura and after that we came to kandy.
So Ruwanweli maha seeya and dhalada maligawa is most memorable things of my life to.
And also you visited correct time for worship.
#slbmc

I would love to go to the palace too, but I'm not lucky enough to go🤕💔

 3 years ago 

Swarnamali Maha Seya is similar to our living Supreme Buddha. It is a great fortune to worship the Great Stupa where the relics of Drona sit.

Yes,of course 😇

You have been upvoted by @damithudaya, A Country Representative from Sri Lanka. We are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update. You can also check out this link which provides the name of the existing community according to specialized subject.

Hi, @dilshara,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


If you would like to support us, please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy.
Or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn a portion of the curation rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60140.74
ETH 2559.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54