American revoultion story

in #history7 years ago

During the American Revolution, in February 1778, John Adams boarded a frigate commanded by Captain Tucker and headed for France to represent the United States in Paris.

Tucker instructed Adams to stay below if there was any fighting en route. But no sooner had he sighted an enemy ship and engaged it in battle than Adams rushed up to the deck with a musket in his hand, ready to do his part. Tucker peremptorily ordered him below and then left to direct the engagement.

An hour or so later he discovered Adams still at his post, diligently firing away at the enemy. "Why are you here, sir?" he cried angrily. "I am commanded by the Continental Congress to carry you safely to Europe, and I will do it!" With that, he seized Adams in his arms and forcibly carried him off from the scene of danger.

Sort:  

Hi, yanching! I just resteemed your post!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot.
If you want to know more about me, read my introduction post.
Good Luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67