You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Discrediting Power: Whoring Monarchs

in #history5 years ago

I don't think the disdain for the harlot is going to end any time soon, unfortunately. In some ways it's probably a reaction to the power that women hold. An unsuccessful man can look at a woman who is sleeping with all these other men, and think, who are they to have all the fun? It's her fault I'm unhappy.

And of course other men can think, Yeah, I'd bang her, but she's not marriage material. How could she be loyal to me if she likes sleeping around that much? And so there's a devaluation that happens almost subconsciously. Why women should look at a promiscuous man and not feel the same disdain, I don't know. Maybe they value power and success over loyalty?

Sort:  

Possibly, though women usually value loyalty a lot. Isn't that supposed to be our thing? Like you know, looking to build a stable family or what not?
I don't get it either. This is a bit far back, but I suppose a promiscuous king meant any woman could rise to power.
Look at Elizabeth Woodville who became Queen. Or all the chicks Charles II slept with. Or you know,pretty much anyone who ever got a title that way :))

An unsuccessful man can look at a woman who is sleeping with all these other men, and think, who are they to have all the fun? It's her fault I'm unhappy.

I find that mentality downright dangerous. But yeah, I suppose it explains it. Besides, if it's a woman in power and she doesn't fancy you, it's double irritation. One that you're not deemed sexually attractive and two, that you don't get the same political benefits.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38