Sort:  

Nice little tidbit of California history.

A lot of people don't know that around that same time Imperial Russia laid claim to the Pacific Northwest from Sitka, Alaska all the way south to San Francisco Bay. This encroachment by the Tsar lead to the Monroe Doctrine which decreed that any more colonization of the Western Hemisphere by Europe would be considered an act of war. Not long after Russia abandoned their fur trading settlements having wiped out all the sea otters.

Had history played out differently perhaps we might have seen Argentina going to war against Russia over California!

Wow, that is really interesting! I had no idea!

@vieira you mean there was a part of Argentina that suffered terrible crime, partied a whole week, and was so drunk they couldn't remember most of it? Sounds like a lot of Argentina from any point in history lol

Thanks for sharing this history. It was entertaining to read especially because I've lived in California my whole life.

Excellent post, I am from Argentina and did't know about this story, it is something that doesn't teach at schools.

Hello! Your account seems new so welcome to the steemit platform. This deserves an upvote and I hope you will some day do the same!
Getting those upvotes on a new account can be a daunting task, believe me, so my advice would be to give Steemfollower a go as you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I compiled this post to explain the system in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

Imagine if Argentina has kept California... The precious pacific coast she has been longing for. No more jealousy of Chile.

And yes, you have won my follow:D

You got a good point there. It just that it happens that way.

I like this post.
This is very benefical post for the people whi saw this..
I am going to follow you and expect from you to follow back me.best of luck.
@ehtishamsaif

Didn't the US also take Texas from the Mexicans?

And Alaska from the Russians.

Naughty naughty :)

Crack-For-Kids.gif

The US bought Alaska from the Russian Empire for $7.2 million in 1867. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alaska_Purchase Texas is not so clean as you imply.

You've captured my attention.

I wish my kids will be much cuter than that ^^

Hiiiii vieira nice to read about you.i am Manas from india,am also a new on steemit and welcome you to steemit.i have followed you.so, can you also follow me and upvote me. All the best for your future. I believe teamwork is the good requirement for steemit.

How bout we give it back to Argentina, just a thought! : ) And send Senator Feinstein who only believes the military and her body guards need guns along with the deal.

Just my 2 cents

As always I upvote/follow/resteem those that do the same for me. Just don't spam my feed or will unfollow/mute.

upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51