On this day 29th November

in #history7 years ago

Some notable facts about this date, for more, visit http://www.onthisday.com

Facts

526 Antioch, modern day Syria, struck by an earthquake, killing about 250,000

1745 Bonnie Prince Charlie's army moves into Manchester & occupies Carlisle

1877 US inventor Thomas Edison demonstrates his hand-cranked phonograph for the first time

1935 Physicist Erwin Schrödinger publishes his famous thought experiment 'Schrödinger's cat', a paradox that illustrates the problem of the Copenhagen interpretation of quantum mechanics

1951 1st underground atomic explosion at Frenchman Flat in Nevada

Deaths

561 Chlotarius I, king of the France (558-61), dies at about 61

1843 Marco Santucci, composer, dies at 81

1924 Giacomo Puccini, Italian composer (Mme Butterfly), dies in Brussels at 65

1981 Natalie Wood, American actress (West Side Story), drowns at 43

1987 Irene Handl, actress (Riding High, Morgan), dies at 85

1994 Ronald "Buster" Edwards, British Great Train Robber turned flower-seller, founded hanged at 63

2001 George Harrison, English pop star and Beatle (Traveling Wilburys-My Sweet Lord), dies of lung cancer at 58

2010 Mario Monicelli, Italian film director (b. 1915)

Born on this day

1960 Cathy Moriarty, American actress (Raging Bull, Bless This House), born in The Bronx, New York

1973 Ryan Giggs, Welsh footballer

A Couple of Pics from those no longer with us


Natalie Wood


Irene Handl

Sort:  

@Stimp1024 thank you so much for everything you do for SteemIans!

I feel like I've never properly thanked you so here I am making my presence known and felt as your follower. 😊

And btw I have a sister in law that looks just like Natalie Wood - R.I.P.

Check out my latest 👉 post 👈 where I thank the 1st SteemIt 🐳 🐋 “gods” that gave me my 👉 First 🐳🐋 UpVote. 👈 😉

Stop by & comment on both posts if you'd like. 😃

some-alaska-guy-steemit-banner-pic.png

You are most welcome, I like the graphics very good indeed! I'll check out your posts

blessed-dj-some-alaska-guy.png

Thank you 🙏 so much @Stimp1024 that really means a whole lot to me! 🤗

Stay tuned for my coming series entitled #CryptoKungFu & blockchain #MortalKombat. 😂

stay-tuned-dj-some-alaska-guy.png

SteemIt banner 👇👇 made by our SteemIan bro @Kaleem345. ❤️ 👍 👌

some-alaska-guy-gif.gif

adoro sua pesquisa de datas! idéia muito boa!sempre fico curiosa! rs

Thanks I am glad you found the article useful

Thanks for shared of Natalie Wood and Irene Handl details I appreciate your all post @stimp1024 👍👍

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.27 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56679.48
ETH 2377.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26