A Mile In MY ShoessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #history7 years ago

I fought in Vietnam and am proud to have served my country and my brothers... albeit in an unnecessary conflict. I not only find the treatment we received when we returned objectionable, I also find the way we were portrayed in movies such as Platoon and Full Metal Jacket equally objectionable. We served with honor and I'm proud of my brothers. When we left home, we were kids; when we came home, we were old men. I found these pictures on Pinterest and they show how things really were:

N2.jpg
We ate at fine dining establishments...

N3.jpg
We learned the meaning of brotherhood...

N4.jpg
We learned first aid...

N7.jpg
We babysat children...

N5.jpg
WE went for long walks in the country...N1.jpg
We learned the true meaning of sorrow...

Yes I'm proud... proud of each and every man who served!

badge.pngicross.jpgpow.png

Sort:  

Thank you for your service and sacrifice! x100 respect and appreciation for your excellent contributions to Steemit!

Thank you, my friend and thank you for your valuable contributions!

I served on a Bomber Base In Thailand at the same time.
We won the war, the democrats gave it away.
The liberals, some of them still living, are directly responsible for the deaths of millions.
If that's not war crimes I don't know what it is.
I share your feeling.
I won't watch TV or most movies.
They lie.

My guess would be Ubon. I'm glad somebody else knows we won... the N. Vietnamese surrendered at Paris and the Dems impeached Nixon for doing what everybody in politics does. Watergate was a fabrication of the MSM. I don't watch TV either, but like movies (mostly old ones). There are a few "brothers" I'm not so proud of, John Kerry the traitor and McCain who was charged with treason and pardoned by Nixon (wonder what that cost his dad?)

Utapaeo, Ubon was a fighter base.
Nixon was not impeached, he resigned first.
I agree with you about everything else.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.93 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 04 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I appreciate your service. I was born in 66 so a bit too young, but I have buddies that were there. Well done and great post. Resteemed.

Thank you so much! I got back in 66.

Amazing @richq11 thank you for your contributions its so hard to picture those times now great pictures shared.

Thank you!

I once recorded my dad's stories about his time in Vietnam to submit the recording to local archive looking for Vietnam stories. It's hard to get the whole story from history books. You have to go to those who were there to know how bad things got. Without hearing his experiences I'd never know how truly scary and bad his experiences were over there. Thank you for sharing pictures and for your service.

Thanks so much! I'm working on some more, collecting pictures that other guys took. Most everything I did was highly classified ( a precursor to the Phoenix Program), so I'm having to rely on other sources.

That's very interesting. My dad handled communications (radios and such) but I know he saw a lot of combat. He's been sick for a long time due to agent orange exposure so he'd paid for his time there with his health. It's always interesting to hear others experiences.

Basically, it was a chemical herbicide that they sprayed to kill plants and destroy agriculture. It was sprayed all over during Vietnam as a war tactic to kill the enemies food sources. It was highly toxic and causes cancer and can impact genes so that people's kids could have birth defects. A lot of veterans were exposed to it and it caused permanent illness. My dad became allergic to everything in his 30s. Can't go to department stores because clothing dyes make him sick. Can't go to funerals bc/he's allergic to embalming chemicals. Perfumes, etc. make him sick. Drs. said it was due to that. He also has Leukemia and problems with his nerves from exposure.

The Agent Orange issue really pisses me off! I worked for the VVA for awhile selling ads for their newspaper to raise money. The average guy got paid $1500 for exposure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41