Kiwi nostalgia: gone and almost forgotten (16)

in #history6 years ago

Digging Deep for these Musical Memories

(Misty) Bridgette Allen

(60s-onwards)
image source
You can listen to one of her jazz songs here:


misty.jpg
image source
She has also done a bit of acting.

Space Waltz
space.jpg
(1974)
image source
You can hear their popular song Out On The Street here:

(I didn't think I'd heard of them, but their song sounds very familiar.)


image source

The Yandall Sisters

(70s-onward)
image source
You can hear their cover of Sweet Inspiration here:


yandall.png
image source

John Rowles

(late 60s-onward)
image source
You can listen to his If I Only Had Time here:



image source
He is part of a talented family of singers, including sister Tania, and brother Wally (aka Frankie Price; aka Frankie Rowles)

Bill and Boyd

(1959-1989)
image source
You can listen to their Put Another Log On The Fire here:


bb.jpg
image source

Herma Keil and the Keil Isles
keils.jpg
(1956-onwards)
image source
You can listen to If You Wanna Be Happy here:
Sort:  


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

I like the Yandall Sisters. Love music. i play guitar, piano, and sing. Thank for sharing soulful music hehe.

You're very welcome. And you are so lucky to be musical! :)

Awesome. Agreed.

I always loved that Space Waltz song. I've got a couple of John Rowles songs in my arthritis class repertoire, but not that one. Not sure why, cos it probably is the prettiest. And I always forget that Put Another Log on the Fire is a kiwi song. I have a routine of all kiwi songs for NZ Music month in May, maybe I'll add that to it this year. But once a year is probably all they could stand of that!

It has surprised me to learn that some songs or bands or singers I took to be from overseas are actually kiwi.

And yeah, I still remember 'that song' playing on tv over and over ... in fact there are plenty I'd rather not hear again often :D

Congratulations @ravenruis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67