Sort:  

Nope I haven't checked it out. I started playing before there were web pages, so by the time their were web pages I was off and running. I wish there were web pages back when I was learning it would have made things a lot faster.

The teacher on there basically says the electric bass is very unique and its best to learn it differently. He says that you need to think of yourself firstly as a musician/artist who simply uses an instrument to express himself/herself.

Cool....why did you start playing electric bass?

The second part of that Cliff Burton post actually has Flea who you mentioned talking about him at the induction into the Rockin' Roll Hall of Fame.

Interesting... I saw this one cool bass solo of him once.

Yeah there are a lot of boot legged videos of him tearing it up. Sadly he died before they got really big, and he didn't really care about videos and things so most of what we have video wise of him is pretty poor recordings.

OK what kind of style did he play?

I only played it some. I wanted to start playing bass, and all I had was an acoustic guitar. This was about 3 decades ago. I learned on that, and then I just stuck with guitar. I wanted to play bass because of Cliff Burton.

I ended up being friends and roommates with bass players while I played guitar and I'd often play theirs. Really I don't play just one instrument. I also play Cello some, though not particularly well as guitars are my interest.

I don't currently own a bass, but I want to buy one. I am going to shop for a new guitar today, but I'm thinking of going for a 7 string. I may buy a bass after that though as I've wanted one for awhile.

Here are some old posts I wrote about the guy that made me want to play bass. I didn't know of Jaco back then I was very young. I actually learned of Jaco from my bass playing roommate a couple years later.

Here is my two part post on Cliff Burton from last year.
Who was Cliff Burton? - Some musical history - another great - another tragic loss
Who was Cliff Burton? - Part two - Bass player, amazing and gifted person, tragic loss.

He died... and at the time he died he was very unique and doing unique things. I think he would have gone on to inspire a lot more people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55