TIGHTWAD BANK - HONESTY IS THE BEST POLICY?

in #history7 years ago

Individual results may vary…


This is the actual sign in front of a bank in Missouri. “Did they finally start being honest?” you may wonder, but in reality, Tightwad is the name of the town.

In the direct center of the western part of the state in Henry County, Tightwad was not always known as “Tightwad.” Originally, it was called Edgewood because of the woods nearby the original site of the town.

Though sources disagree about whether the namesake incident involved a watermelon or a rooster, but the incident from which the town got its current name involved a store owner and a postman. The store owner apparently charged the postman an additional 50 cents for a “better” watermelon or rooster, whichever one it was.

I saw think sign and this bank about a month ago while travelling through Missouri, and I’m glad that I got the chance to take a photo today. There are a few other interesting things I’ve seen that I’ll try to photograph and post, but we will see.


All info that is not original came from this source.


Until next time…

DON’T BE A STEEM TIGHTWAD!


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Missouri has some Peculiar town names. (Referring to Peculiar, MO) I remember seeing Tightwad mentioned when I lived down there.

I've been to Peculiar MO before... funny little town.

I haven't been to Peculiar, but I drove a school bus down to Ray-Pec Schools in Raymore, MO.

Hell, Michigan would be another interesting trip.

I went camping in Hell. Being a Michigan native, I can say if you like wash board roads, you will like Hell. FWIW if Hell is not to your liking, we also have Climax, MI. Just saying.

Interesting, never been to either... just saying.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.33 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 11 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

sorry to misuse your post like this. The seeding wand was posted today, cheap airmail, estimated 10 to 15 days. may be longer with Easter in the mix.
Have fun with it.
We have a town five miles down the road, the only place in the world where you can get milk from Bulls.
Am working on a post about it.

No neec to apologize.... Thank you so much!

Link drop that post link when you make it too, so I don't miss it, if you would please.

you win, I don't know how, I'll ask Trevor to tell me probably tomorrow.

have a go at steemit chat?

That is hilarious! Right next to cheapskate park?! ;)

That is too funny, maybe they don't want to lend to many people...lol

That's what I thought!

Yep, I used to bank there. But back then, they spelled it Citibank.

I heard it was known by many names.

I certainly would approve a bank that does not throw away my money for fancy buildings or ads or suits for there sales guys!

Is there also a store in town that only sells bike shorts?

Hey! Careful with that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82