You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The most successful fiat currency in history has lost 99.5% of its value

in #history5 years ago

When currencies stopped being tied to precious metals or other natural resources, they became virtual like cryptocurrencies... Their real value is essentially zero, but compared to other currencies, their value is non-zero due to supply and demand.

In the old days a currency was essentially promissory note that said government exchanges the paper money or coin to equivalent amount of gold.

Now, it's reversed, as people need to pay using something else to keep their IOU's.

When world stops using cash altogether, currencies cease to exist per original definition.

Sort:  

I'm a freelance journalist, explaining complicated things to "simple" people is what I do almost daily ;)
When I publish something, I don't need to write my name under, because people know it's written by me just by looking the writing style of the article.

Ha, nice! I feel like I have that ability as well.

I've been writing since 2001... Sometimes what I did write, did happen after I did write about it, not before...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58167.25
ETH 2358.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36