You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Painted Ladies of the Old West Cow Towns

in #history6 years ago

Very interesting @janton! I understand why women "get into it", but it is something I just don't get doing...if that makes any sense at all!

check out that ornate little table, I have a spot for that!

I did haha

Sort:  

howdy @lynncoyle1! thanks so much for commenting and checking out this rushed out post between commenting! lol. yes Ma'am, I thought the vintage photos were so interesting and excellent as I studied them and wondered what it would be like to be able to interview these women and what their lives were like, what led them to this lifestyle and if they had plans to get out!
this was the family friendly version, I thought about using some of the
DOZENS of fascinating nude photos which I was shocked to find, and putting the warning letters of adult content on there, those were utterly fascinating also...not in a turn-on way either, just a historical way, I was just amazed.

I can see why you would be amazed @janton! We get the Hollywood version of it, and of course, it's all pretty beautiful, but I shudder to think of the disease, the violence, the conditions all of it, and how it must have actually been for those women. Shocking to find nudes too; mostly because of the times, but like always, there's a seediness that most of us never see! It makes me wonder who was taking the photos (I don't mean the photographer), but who was commissioning them? Were they being sold? Black market stuff? It all makes you wonder though, doesn't it?

yes Ma'am I'm sure the photos were being sold and were very illegal and scandalous and the women got a percentage of those also. some of them, if they didn't get addicted to drugs or booze, made great money for a few years and got out, the higher class clubs or Parlors attracted wealthy cattlemen and such, and some of the women married those men and got out. others took their money and started their own houses of "ill repute" ..the women owners got to choose who they slept with, the regular girls had to sleep with any ugly scumbag that walked through the door.

I'm from close to Dodge City Kansas which was the most famous for the whore houses and saloons and also the legendary Lawmen like Wyatt Earp and Bat Masterson and they has their hands full in Dodge. I should do a post just on the famous lawmen like Earp and Doc Holiday but it would probably put kids like you to sleep!

Are you kidding me?! I would love that! Brian and I are huge fans of Earp and Doc Holiday!! Dodge is the place, that's for sure!

Remember, I just look young lol but I'm an old soul everywhere else :)

lol! okay then you got a deal. well I really like some stuff that Dodge has in the way of museums and the tourist trap called Boot Hill. That cemetery was knick-named that because alot of people died suddenly with their boots still on. lol.
but Dodge was so wild because of all the crazed young cowboys that the sheriff sent for Wyatt Earp who was in Wichita, Wyatt came and brought his old Buffalo hunting companion Bat Masterson and I'm not sure where Doc Holiday was but he came to.
Actually the movie with Kurt Russell and Val Kilmer playing Doc was pretty accurate in some ways and Kilmer looked alot like the original Doc.

any way I'll do that since it was like my hometown. now it's mostly Mexicans but still it has great history and the Longbranch saloon which was the West's most famous saloon is there, you can go watch the dance hall girls dance in originally styled dresses and get a Sarsaparilla to drink!
good clean fun. I don't think the "Soiled Doves" are there anymore!

the main question is..what are you doing this weekend?

I actually love that move with Kurt Russell and Val Kilmer!


oh you don't say! wow that's very cool, me too.
nice reply. better late than never! lol.

hahaha smart guy :)

On that note, I'm off to bed! See you tomorrow in the Leagues :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43