Visiting the National Museum in Copenhagen... again.

in #history6 years ago (edited)

Today I went with my daughter to the National Museum - I bought a season pass while I was there to show my favourite pieces to my internet friend, Vincent - @vcelier so I will probably write more posts with treasures I find there.

Today we choose the classical section, as my daughter wanted to see the mummy. Since she was a little girl she has been attracted to and scared of this 2700 year old priestess, but we also found some other fine things:


A statue of Bes, the Egyptian Dwarfgod. Very peculiar and different from normal Egyptian style.


Here you can see the erect penis - probably meaning that he represents fertility. He was considered a friendly and protective God.


a beautiful little wooden swimmer


a hieroglyph slug (my daughter is a city girl and fears slugs more than anything)


and some clay figurines of little Cypriot mother goddesses

We biked in today again and it was raining. But as long as my wife is not there (she hates rain) light rain can be enjoyable in its own way.

Sort:  

if our country mesium with the penis will be strongly opposed, that's the cultural difference, but we all know the penis, why we should be ashamed of him ,, ha ha ha

Haha, yes. It is part of the creation after all.

freedom in our place can be interpreted freedom is shackled, want to sunbathing must be in the house

Yes, that is very different from here in Denmark :( I think more freedom is the best.

I agree with you, we live for freedom

I think you mean Bes represents "Fertility" not "Fruglity", unless in their culture an erect penis means to save and conserve. Or maybe it's a jab at the size of his manhood, in that it is frugal in size? :)

I love that your daughter loves the mummy. I can relate.

I also like being out and about in the rain. It's refreshing and sometimes just fun.

Just in time to fix it :) Thanks. She is also afraid of the mummy, but when you are standing next to this dry old woman it is not that bad.

I was actually there last year, it really was a beautiful exhibit.

As an archaeologist, I always thought that the world would be a much more cheerful place if we still had gods who walk around with erected penes.

It is interesting that this God is so unlike the rest of the Egyptian pantheon. There is something Babylonian/assyrian about it. That was why I noticed it. I think it must be inspired from some other culture. Apart from the penis, being able to lend an attractive God from other cultures is also something we lost :)

You have to remember that people weren't so chauvinistic about their religion systems, and "borrowing" deities wasn't frowned upon. Monotheism, on the other hand, was :)

Is that thing a weapon? Let's ask the ancient alien theorist

I see a film manuscript coming on!

The swimmer figure is impressive. Is it really wood? About how old is it?

Yes, it is beautiful, and made from wood. I am not sure about the date, but I think the things in the montre was from the middle Kingdom so about 2000 BC or a bit later.

Come on, 2,000 BC?

Such delicate art. I can only imagine the artist who made this... his (hers) thoughts while crafting it, the place where he was, the life he was living...

Something to think about for me today. Thank you.

Great job done and thanks for sharing these historical stuff, and these artifacts are reflecting the ancient essence and i don't know what it is but i personally like ancient civilisations because, in my opinion they used art as an language, that's why we will find the artistic symbols on the walls and rocks and many symbols are still mystery for human beings. Wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

a beautiful museum, in our country we will not find mesium with a display like that, I really want to see directly one day.

It is a special feeling to stand before such old thing - more than 2000 years old.

Visiting an historic National Museum in Copenhagen. And been able to see different historic images and been able to know and understand their historic relevance in the past is a part of knowledge acquired. Taking your daughter with you to show her historic artifacts is a nice way to exposed her to how life in the past looks like. Glad you enjoy your trip to the Museum @katharsisdrill

Yeah i know that visiting Museum is good for knowledge in my life i have visited many museums too.but you shown me something what i did't seen in my life yet. Yes i'm astonished have a look ...
you said that

Here you can see the erect penis - probably meaning that he represents frugality. He was considered a friendly and protective God.

It was so deep meaning even i never couldn't imagine the way you explained.thanks to explain that and for your interesting photography and contents as always : )

The need for reflection and restraint of power is what led Louis Freeh to order that all new agent classes visit the Holocaust Museum here in Washington so they could see and feel and hear in a palpable way the consequences of abuse of power on a massive, almost unimaginable scale.
That was great museum to visit and the Egyptian Dwarfgod that statue was so cool one.
Thanks for sharing some moments 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35