Today in History: Die Hard opens in theaters

in #history5 years ago

The premiere was in Los Angeles 3 days prior but that doesn't apply to us peasants who would never be able to get into those events. For us "coach class" citizens this day would introduce us to a film that would go down in history as one of the greatest action films of all time.

BGE5b.jpg
source
I don't know if this is genuine or not, it might be a bootleg

The year was 1988 and I would imagine most of you were not alive. In the 80's we had become accustomed to all action films being required to star either Arnold Schwarzenegger or Sylvester Stallone, so switching over to the much smaller Bruce Willis was actually a refreshing change of pace for us normal-sized humans.

diehard6-1024x379.jpg
source

I'm certain I don't need to explain the story to anyone and if I do, I'm a little disappointed in you. Die Hard is one of the most iconic action films of all time and is constantly referenced in pop culture even today. I hear it mentioned by Jake Perolta in Brooklyn 99 on a regular basis and a decade ago it was well-known to be Joey from FRIENDS favorite movie of all time.

Let's keep in mind that at the time Bruce Willis was mostly known for his comedic performances. This is mainly true for his co-starring role in a popular television program called "Moonlighting." He originally turned down the role due to contracts but when co-star Cybill Shepherd got pregnant, the filming of Moonlighting shut down for 11 weeks and therefore Bruce got the greenlight to do Die Hard. Thank goodness he did because it is difficult for me to imagine anyone else in the role of John McClane. Willis was paid $5 million for this role and while that is likely chump change by today's standards it was a really big deal at the time.

This was the first time that young me was introduced to Alan Rickman who played the iconic role of Hans Gruber, who was the leader of the baddies.

5697dcdfc08a809b088b98f9-750.jpg
source

The film stays captivating from start to end and that is pretty unusual in films. I was too young to see it in theaters when it was released (it was rated "R") but I have seen it at least a dozen times since then and will likely watch it again today.

The trailer is quite long and also featured the iconic narrator that did the voice for virtually all action film previews in the late 80's (his name is Don LaFontaine by the way.)

Die hard cost a then-staggering $28 million to make but in the end it made nearly $150 million at the box office. This figure would likely be scoffed at today where the blockbuster action films routinely pull in 3 -5 times that amount. Of course it likely went on to make many times that amount when we factor in royalty fees and VHS, then laserdisk, then DVD sales. It also categorically gets played every year as it is considered one of the most iconic Christmas films of all time despite the fact that it really doesn't have much of a Christmas theme other than the fact that the time-period in the film.

I love this movie and to me it is an example of a perfect action film with just the right amount of humor mixed into the action. This same formula is used in nearly any blockbuster action film that we see today.

Ho.... ho..... ho......

Sort:  

Now I have a machine gun. This is by far my all time favorite movie. I think it is practically perfect in every way. I thought I had it pretty much memorized, but I was watching it with my father in law this past holiday season and he was getting lines that even I was missing. That tells you what a cool guy he is. This is the first R movie that my dad allowed me to watch. For that alone it will always have a special meaning for me, but the fact that Bruce is so awesome in his role really makes the film. It has some of the best one liners too!

it is one of those rare gems that has almost unlimited rewatch value.

It's one of the best, or maybe the best I do not know, action movie of all time. The only sequel that I saw was the number 3, in which Willis partner is Samuel L. Jackson, I heard that the script of that sequel was originally written for Lethal Weapon, however, the original was undoubtedly the best.

Bruce Willis barefoot running over all that glass leaving traces of blood throughout the building while killing the bad guys was great.

One of the best. EVER.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50