You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Painted Ladies of the Old West Cow Towns

in #history6 years ago

I had read somewhere quite some time ago that the red light district (lanterns) came about when the railroad workers were in town, they would carry their lanterns when they walked through town in the darkness seeking out the saloons (who housed "soiled doves") and the brothels. More or less to find their way in the dark and they would leave their lit lanterns outside; hence the red light district was born.Not sure how true... but I can imagine it may be true.

Sort:  

howdy today @goldendawne! yes I've read that theory also but I wasn't sure about it or at least the details. I don't know why they would be bringing their railroad lights with them instead of leaving them on the train. And I wouldn't think they'd want to attract so much attention to themselves as the regular citizenry weren't carrying big lanterns around.

I've read that the Parlors used red lanterns at night outside the house to let people know where they were but the story of the railroad workers being that dumb doesn't make sense to me but who knows? lol.
when you got one thing on your mind you can be pretty dumb!
not you but men. lol
thanks so much for stopping by and commenting!

when you got one thing on your mind you can be pretty dumb!

lol- Yeah I have to agree there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43