You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Raids, Battles, And Buffalo Soldiers

in #history5 years ago

Interesting. I have heard that term Buffalo Soldiers plenty of times, but didn't really grasp what it meant. Clearly I did not pay enough attention during history when school covered the Wild West. I am making up for it now.

This is really a unique story in how Hermann is getting to experience life from two sides. At the beginning of the story I didn't really anticipate him becoming fully invested in the new culture to the extent that he hated his own. I suppose it shouldn't be surprising though. We all know from experience how impressionable teenagers are.

Sort:  

Howdy ginnyannette! I don't remember any Wild West teachings in history class but maybe there was, do you?

I agree and most of the kids who were taken, if they weren't rescued or ransomed right away became Indianized to the point that they didn't want to leave. I can see you loving that lifestyle after a couple of years, can't you? Being close to nature, living off the land, roaming to where ever you want.

The being close to nature part certainly would be nice. There is so much strife and violence though, but I guess he may have had his share of that in his prior life, so maybe it evened out.

Howdy again! in his private life? I don't follow you. Are you going all Jehovah's Witness on me??

Lol! If you need to reference this again, Janton, so that you can be certain whether or not I am going the way of the JW.

I meant in his prior life, as in before he was kidnapped. I don't know if he had a relatively easy going childhood at his mother's house with only the occasionally stressful situation, or if it was riddled with life and death scenarios like his life was with the Indians. If it was, then I can see how he could acclimate easily. Either way it is clear the mind does adapt, especially when young.

ha! yes I think I know where you stand on that JW issue! me too.

Ok, I see what you mean. Yeah he didn't talk about what his life before was like but I bet it was pretty peaceful. And at first when he was first captured he wanted to live so he was willing to do anything and then later his mind followed that of his environment and culture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55214.91
ETH 2471.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24