Money for Nothing and the Ship's for Free

in #history7 years ago

Merchant Money

IMG_1667.PNG

"YARR!" I see treasure me hearties and it's money from across the world. Now, I'm unsure as to what countries these paper notes originate from, but the obvious ones I'll label at the top of the photo. These notes were collected by an antique dealer named Fokko Middel, and I've covered some of his collection a few months ago in previous articles, where we saw paper money from around Asia-Pacific. We all know that paper money is on its way out and these relics from the past will one day remind me of a time when we used to use these as legal tender, but not just yet. Let's look at a few of the photos covered in what could be the final chapter in this series of Merchant Money.

I used a model boat along with a treasure chest jewellery box from above the fireplace as props, so as to give the old pirate ship feeling, hence my "YARR" as a greeting earlier.


IMG_1637.PNG

IMG_1646.PNG

IMG_1669.PNG

IMG_1664.PNG


The Artwork on the Paperwork

I absolutely love the artwork on paper money and thoroughly enjoyed seeing the different notes from around the world with their own unique creative style. I chose to start with this photo of a note that might be from Eastern Europe, I just don't know, but what is particularly poignant about this one, is the bird emblem located at the top left-hand corner of the note. A premier Steemian called @tremendospercy is currently running a serious focused on Birdmen, their affect on society along with their relevance to the people of that time. So it's ironic how prevalent the Bird(men/emblem) is, even with money. Link to @tremendospercy's awesome article and series below.

https://steemit.com/history/@tremendospercy/mystery-history-pt3c-the-bird-men-huitzilopochtli-the-hummingbird-god

IMG_1644.PNG

IMG_1656.PNG

IMG_1654.PNG

IMG_1657.PNG


Argentina I believe

IMG_1658.PNG

IMG_1662.PNG

IMG_1660.PNG


The Paper Trail

IMG_1652.PNG

IMG_1648.PNG

IMG_1649.PNG

IMG_1645.PNG

IMG_1642.PNG

IMG_1643.PNG


I hope you enjoyed viewing these pieces of financial history, especially as we all transition over to a paperless monetary system. To think that the paper notes that you hold onto now, could be worth a lot more sitting on the shelf of an antique store somewhere, at sometime in the future.

Thanks for taking the time to view this post and I hope you have a lovely weekend Steemians.


FullSizeRender-1.jpg.jpeg

Sort:  

330627-cat-saying-interesting-4fbd7.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 9.48% vote... I was summoned by @flatrider! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Good post bro

Paper money makes me sick ahaha

But definitely impressed by the collection! I feel like I’ve never seen paper currency other than US and Canadian! Nice to get out of the bubble haha

Thanks @waphilip and paper money is kind of tainted now, so I understand your feelings towards it. Glad you enjoyed the different notes and have a good weekend dude.

Amazing post dear

This post has received a 5.40 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @flatrider.

This post has received a 6.41 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @flatrider. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

you can check my profile give comment & upvote :)

Cool post! I really love the art! The colors are wonderful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60480.09
ETH 2363.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65