You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Subway Map of Ancient Rome : Visualizing Past + Present

in #history7 years ago

This is awesome. I'm a Latinist and love learning of new resources to continue my education. I suck at geography, so this post is like a heaven send.

For the Latin, I'd go with "Locale" vs "Celere" since you're talking about an announcement. The Latin word for "express" has the meaning of "expression," while "celere" means "fast" --> it's where the word "accelerate" comes from. :D

Sort:  

Locale vs Celere! Fantastic :)

Thanks for the kind words and thoughtful feedback. Amazing to learn of these Latin roots, and seeing Ancient Rome visualized in subway-map form... so much of this ancient society has permeated into modern life today. Cheers @finleyexp

I don't know where you were headed in the web when you came across the Ancient Roman subway maps, but I'm glad you decided to post about it. I think it's fascinating to see how people meld history with modernity. Thanks again @voronoi!

Followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73