Sort:  

Thanks, @cryptoandcoffee. I've done a bit of that in northern France and intend to do a whole lot more. I didn't write about Vimy Ridge in particular since it occurred immediately before Passchendaele. But I think it does need more attention, particularly for the huge significance it had on Canada. So bookmarked for a later post (the list is growing).

What sites have you been to already. There are some excellent ones for both wars there. I used to try go once a month. There is a reasonable hotel in D'Arc called The Grand . Paid around 35 euros for a family room that had 3 bedrooms. Must have gone up but won't be that much more and that was only 3 years ago when I checked.

It's a bit more tricky for me since I'm in South Africa. Last year my family and I visited Delville Wood Cemetery near Longueval. It was a very moving experience, particularly since we first walked through the Wood where you can still see the traces of the trenches - some still quite deep. Knowing a bit about that battle just made it so real. And then walking through the huge cemetery where all those young men from the UK, South Africa, Australia, Canada and New Zealand lie side by side.

Of course, this was part of the Somme, so we saw many more graveyards in the area but time wasn't on our side.

Thanks for the tip on The Grand in D'Arc - that could make the next trip more affordable.

Hey Tim. I am also in South Africa and we have to make the Rand's stretch. When I lived in the UK it was handy so the trips over are obviously not as frequent these days.

I find it alarming still that they have to still have signs up that you have to walk on the pathways and dogs have to be on leashes due to all the ordnance still lying around the area.
The Grand is in a good situation as you are 10 minutes from St Omer which has a great farmers market in the square. Le Coupelle is nearby and if you haven't been is a must. The bunker which still stands is also close by but the opening times you need to check as it is privately owned.

Excellent tips, thank you. I'll remember to check with you when planning the next trip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45