My Gradmother's Farm from 1925 / TEXASsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #history7 years ago (edited)

A few years ago my Mom, Grandmother, wife, and the kiddo's took a ride just North of Corsicana in a place called Manfort, Tx. Its hardly visible on any map. Back in the 1920's my Grandmother and Grandfather were neighbors in this little place. The pictures are of the farm my Grandmother grew up on. Their family rented the land, home, and barn in order plant and harvest crops. The 20's was a trying time for them. My Grandmother would save any trash that could be used again. I remember a story she told me when her family had a chicken for lunch. They didn't much meat because it was just to expensive for them. After she and her many brothers and sisters at the chicken they cracked open the bones to eat the marrow. What difficult times they were. My Grand parents were survivors. They had no running water, no plumbing, an outhouse to use the bathroom, and of course no electricity. They have both passed away now but they leave in incredible legacy. The legacy of perseverance and hard work and making a difference in lives around us. Let us all remember our Grand Parents lives and pursue helping our neighbors, even when we don't have much to spare. Have a great day all and enjoy the photographs I took. Cheers.

P1190464.JPG

P1190422.JPG

P1190469.JPG

P1190475.JPG

P1190481.JPG

P1190505.JPG

Sort:  

The picture and the story are very much like both of you thank you so much for presenting a beautiful story

You are very welcome, and thanks for the nice compliment. Cheers.

I am very happy with my statement

This is a beautiful story of the legacy that your grandparents passed on to you. They were a resilient people to survive the tough times back then. Following you now.

Thanks. I appreciate the reply. Yes, the people back then were truly resilient. I am following you back.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Thanks for the support.

If you ask me, I think my posts are voted on without being read...
@pocketechange

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51