Disaster in the Netherlands. More than 1800 people died as a result of the flood

in #history7 years ago

Today it is exactly 65 years ago. On the night of January 31 and February 1, the dikes broke in Zeeland, South Holland, and Brabant, three provinces of the Netherlands.

There was a disaster, especially in Zeeland, 1836 people died in that night and in the days that followed. Tens of thousands lost their home and their belongings.

Within half an hour the water was 2 to 3 meters high in some villages.


achthuizenonline.nl


Wikipedia

The course of the disaster was a storm surge in combination with spring tides. The dikes could not handle so much water.


schooltv.nl


pintarest.com

Here you can see which part of the Netherlands was flooded. On the first picture on the left, you can see what has been done later to prevent another disaster. The Deltawerken! Big dams were built to prevent the water from the see entering the water between the islands.


deltawerken.com


zero-meridean.nl

Not only people died as you can imagine, also a lot of cattle died during the disaster.


zeeuwseankers.nl


goes.nl

Many people were saved by rescuing them by boat.


bibliotheek.nl


pintarest.com


nu.nl

It was necessary to rescue people from the roofs of their houses because some houses were almost totally under water.


geheugenvannederland.com


leonardrutgers.nl


nemokennislink.nl


canonvanmoerdijk.nl

My parents lived in Dordrecht, this town in South-Holland was also suffering from the high water, but not as bad as in Zeeland. My mother was expecting me. It is strange to realize that if she had lived in Zeeland, she might have died and I would never have been born because I would have died with her.

But I am alive and well and the Dutch built these dams, so there is not much chance that a new disaster will occur again.

That is if we stop the climate change because when the poles melt further and the seawater rises, you never know what will happen.

I wish you a nice and dry day,
Clio

Sort:  

What a big disaster, it was. I knew, some part of Nederland is under sea level, but 65 years ago it wasn't protected well flooding. I am so sorry who lost their life by that then. Glad your mom wasn't one of them and now you are informing us with the great articles.

Thank your @funworlding, I am also glad (although otherwise, I wouldn't have known it of course).
But I will try to make more great articles.

@clio thats not a good thing in history . but dear how old you were at that time

OMG very sad news my dear friend, please take care of yourself and your family, it is very cold and Also flood, very hard conditions to servive. I pray for god for the victims. Take care my friend I love you.

Thank you, Maya, it was a disaster in our country 65 years ago today. There are of course people who were alive then and still live. They will never forget the disaster because so many people died.

What a horrible tragedy!

Yes, it was a horrible tragedy. Tonight there was a program on Dutch television with amateur films made during the tragedy. Pictures are sad to look at, but when you see it on film it is even more moving to look at.

Oh, I bet! We had a few similar things that happened as I was growing up. There was a tornado in Xenia, Ohio that wiped out most of the town in the 1970's. A potent reminder to appreciate each moment! Thanks for your post.

Oh yes, this is a very terrible calamity and I sympathize with you and all the Golants with the events of the past. I can imagine how this can be experienced when there is water all around, there is neither home nor property, everything is flooded with water and your people made a lot during this time for safety from flooding. I've seen a lot of films about your dams, these are grandiose constructions and I really hope that you will be all right! Thank you Clio and keep us informed of what's happening!

Thank you for your comment. Indeed, the dams are grandiose constructions. It took almost 40 years to complete the "Delta plan", the construction of the dams and making the dikes higher. I will try to keep all of you informed.

This is a huge loss everytime such severe incident happens people have to start their life from null.... Really man @clio you expressed this post very well!!

Thank you for the compliment.

Very important to remember. I was not aware that today it was 65 years ago. Thanks for reminding me and lets hope it will never happen again!

It is so weird. Suppose my mother, who was expecting me, had died in the flood. Dordrecht was also flooded. Then you would also never have been born. Live is so dependent on coincidences.

I did not know that. this is very bad. I say this is not happening again. so everyone should have seen the resteem and upvote. unnamed.gif

Yes, it was a very sad affair because so many people lost their lives

I wish them condolences ...

I cartoonized this work on the Watersnoodramp. Thanks we are protected by the Delta Works now.

9.jpg

In those days the lorry would have been filled with sandbags. Because to stop the water they used sandbags. It is possible of course that this particular lorry was already emptied!!

Haha, i guess it was already emptied...
This is from a series i did for Daf and this is the 53 model.
I posted some more from this series #daf

The condition of the world is getting worse. There is something terrible that the impact of lalima on the earth is rising. We do not want people to die in natural disasters. It's a very sad thing.

Yes it really is!

Glad we have huge dykes and the Deltawerken these days! To protect us from the water. Do we know what caused the sudden rise of the water back then? I assume climate change wasn't an issue back then as it is today.

The cause was a really hard storm from the west and spring tide and of course, they hadn't done enough to strengthen the dikes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37