Sort:  

It might be partially a matter of changing musical interest. Are there any other "neo-classical" guitarists you still listen to after all of these years?

I used to really enjoy the "Shrapnel" guitarists back in the 80s and 90s, but on very rare occasion will I listen to them now, but there are times when I'm in the mood for it and it hits the spot. Particularly some Tony Macalpine songs from his first couple of albums.

YJM is more than his speed, but his style is like a type of food that is very distinctive, but very rich. You might like it once in awhile or at some point in your life, but you rarely want to try it again, but you appreciate it for what it is. Like a fruit cake, maybe??? heh

I'm not interested anymore in virtuoso guitarists, I start appreciating more people like Hendrix or Joe Pass now.
I think it's a natural evolution for every guitarist to start trying to emulate virtuoso players and then moving to some more adult music making :)

mmm.... well... That is only partially true.

"adult" music is a charged statement, heh!

There is a right tool for the right situation. Sometimes the mind is in the mood for something primal and sometimes something complex or subtle or whatever the case might be.

If you want to go dancing out at a club and your only two choices are Jimi or Jazz, you're doing it wrong. There are parts of the brain that want to hear Sex Pistols and then John Coltrane, then back to Dead Kennedys. Sometimes a simple two note power chord is the right thing to play and other times a speedy scalar run fits the bill. Many people get snobbish once they finally understand that there is more to making music than those two techniques, but everything has a place and time.

Take care!

p.s. I bet you'll revisit some old favorites someday!

Yeah he'll probably make an appearance in the 80s if I do another part. He is good for what he does, but yeah it can be boring. I think most music is boring if you get too much of it. What Yngwie really brought to the table in terms of performance techniques was the sweep picking for sweeping arpeggios. I've never tried playing Fender Strat with a Scalloped neck before so I'm not sure what that did or did not bring to his performance.

He definitely was influential. Most of the guitarists that influenced me personally are from the 80s and 90s. Out of those I have listed so far Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, and Tony Iommi influenced me the most. As far as Clapton mostly for Sunshine of Your Love and Smoke on The Water which I'd jam occasionally.

Angus Young was also an influence, but I never really drifted at all towards playing like him.

Hendrix first came to fame at the famous Woodstock festival. Now that must have been music heaven on earth .... Free love and all . As for BB King , it was when he appeared on stage with U2 and Bono mentioned the opening chords they would be playing he just said "I dont play no chords"...{smile}...it is on youtube. I just started what will be a series on growing up in the 70's, focussing on the music...I would appreciate it if you meandered over and gave it a read ..... Is quite short.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52