Off The Record #8 - "Son Of G Rap" by Kool G Rap & 38 Spesh

in #hiphop6 years ago

Welcome to Off The Record! A Fresh Weekly Album Review segment brought to you by @stickykeys!

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-14 at 19.31.48.jpeg

8th Edition

July 11th 2018

Kool G Rap & 38 Spesh

"Son Of G Rap"

180530-38-spesh-kool-g-rap-son-of-g-rap-album-cover.jpg
source

Of all the artists’ albums I’ve reviewed thus far, Kool G Rap is the most OG of them all. True to the name, and true to the game. Nathaniel Thomas Wilson, or Kool G Rap has been providing Queens, New York City and the rest of the world with Gangster, Hardcore, or Horror Hip Hop since 1986. He is also known for pioneering multisyllabic rhyming and is quoted for influencing many Rap superstars such as Nas, Eminem, Jay-Z and The Notorious B.I.G., as well as countless underground rappers.

Kool-G-Rap_Promo2_suekwon-1.jpg source

His collaborator for this project, 38 Spesh, is kind of an ambiguous artist. It was hard for me to find much information on him besides his Facebook or Twitter accounts and his website, www.38spesh.com only links to his Bandcamp account. It took a little more research on my part than I usually do for these reviews. I finally managed to get a little scoop on him to find that he has worked with some notable artists on his previous album released not too long ago including Jadakiss and Styles-P. He’s been rapping and producing from an early age and is the CEO of a Hip Hop movement called TCF (Trust Comes First) Music Group, from which he has released six albums under.

38-Spesh-ft.-Kool-G-Rap-Upstate-2-Queen.jpg source

‘Son of G Rap’ is the collaborative album of Kool G Rap and 38 Spesh. Released on 8 June 2018, it boasts 14 tracks. The album is produced by the likes of DJ Premier, Pete Rock, Alchemist, Showbiz and Daringer. Feature artists include heavy weights like Freddie Gibbs, Cormega, AZ and N.O.R.E. This is definitely not an album to be taken lightly! It’s a really long album, so I will not get into it too much. The production is great, and the flows from both these rappers did not disappoint.

Kool G Rap & 38 Spesh – ‘Upstate 2 Queens’ music video

I was quite impressed by this album, however, at the same time, there wasn’t much that stood out for me. I realized while writing this that I was listening more to the beats than I was for the raps. Maybe that’s just the fault on the audio engineering, or the platform I was streaming the album on wasn’t a very good quality because the music was too much on the high (frequency) end and I found the beats to be a little louder than the rappers, who should be more prominent. To end this on a good note, I highly recommend giving this a listen. This album is heavy, heavy business!


Stay tuned for the next edition and be sure to follow me at @stickykeys! Also if there are any albums you would like me to review, drop a comment below.

HHTB Follow.gif

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Appreciate the support @illuminati-inc!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65