HIP HOP LEGENDS OF 90s #1 - Onyx

in #hiphop7 years ago (edited)

If you asked me to show you my music collection 20-25 years ago, I would take dozen shoe boxes full of radio tapes. It was so hard to get some good albums back then in the place where I live. Sometimes we would wait for hours in front of satellite TV and if we got lucky, we could hear few good and quality songs. Available original albums to buy were only mainstream and domestic music. So we were always waiting for some cousin to come from a foreign country and, luckily, those guys knew that we needed some good hip-hop. I have such a cousin and I was lucky to get the third album of Onyx in 1998 when I was thirteen years old and that was the fist original music CD that I ever got in my life.


HIP HOP LEGENDS OF 90s

ONYX

The aggressive approach, heavy and rude lyrics and hard core beats were all that I needed as a thirteen years old kid.

If I never met this band before until today I probably wouldn't like them. All that screaming on tracks and loud bass sounded even louder on speakers in my room. My mom was knocking on the door yelling at me:
"What is that music that you listen? Those people sound like they will kill each other on that song!".

But Onyx were too cool for me, they completely changed in me everything I knew about the music. I wasn't nice, peaceful kid, so their angry and violent language was like punching bag for me.

Onyx were formed in 1988. First members were Fredro Starr, Big DS (RIP) and Sony Suave, but two years later, Fredro Starr's cousin Sticky Fingaz joined the group.

They released the first single "Ah, And We Do It Like This" in 1990 and attracted attention of Jam Master Jay (RIP), a DJ of legendary group Run DMC who helped them with second single "Throw Ya Gunz" in 1992.

In 1993 the first album "Bacdafucup" was released and many tracks were produced by Jam Master Jay. The album was very successful and the single "Slam" was hit on the radio and MTV.


ONYX - SLAM, BACDAFUCUP, 1993

After 1993, Big DS leaves Onyx.

Three who stayed Onyx released second album "All We Got Iz Us" in 1995 and many people consider it as their best album. Successful singes from that album were "Last Dayz" and "Live!!!".

In 1998 they released their third album "Shut 'Em Down" with many great features like DMX, Noreaga, Method Man, Big Pun... and the best track was "Shut 'Em Down" featuring DMX.

ONYX - SHUT 'EM DOWN featuring DMX, 1998

The fourth album "Bacdafucup part 2" was released in 2002 and their fifth album "Triggernometry" in 2003.

After that, there were many rumors about the next album and Onyx were very active on stage and gigs, but it took more than decade for them to record the sixth album.

Meanwhile, Sony Suave left the group.

Sticky Fingaz and Fredro Starr under name Onyx released the album "Wakedafucup" in 2014 and "Shotgunz In Hell" in 2017.


CHECK THE COVERS OF THE ALBUMS

You can click on each cover to see it in full preview

full size |full size|full size|full size

full size |full size|full size



ONYX - LAST DAYZ, ALL WE GOZ IZ US, 1995

logo

Sort:  

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Have you read the latest breaking news yet?

Ha, someone found you!

Fascinating post - thanks @dumar022 .

How about something chill...

Like 93 till infinity!

90s were the best :)

This post reminds me when I was more young than now :D Thanks to share a little about Onyx ^_^

Thanks for the comment! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42