Just Listen to This! - Tha Alkaholiks: 21 & Over (Old School Hip Hop Album Review)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #hiphop6 years ago (edited)

Just Listen to This.jpg

Back when I first began to listen to Hip Hop, there wasn’t a whole lot of outlets to hear what was coming out of the underground scene in New York or LA. This was long before the Internet. In Canada we had a show called Rapcity on our music channel Much Music. At first Rapcity aired once a week and then 5 days a week, each episode 30 minute long. As good as this was, sometimes what they put out was limited due to time constraints and censorship. Also Rapcity was never as good as Toronto’s underground Hip Hop DJs who always kept an ear out for new releases.

Anyways, the way I always got on to what was fresh was due to my crew. 9 times out of 10, one of my homies would pass me a brand new cassette and made sure I knew what time it was. And chances were I would either dub what they gave me or buy my own copy. The bottomline is, I had to give whatever was given to me a listen if I wanted to know what was fresh! This is what ‘Just Listen to This’ is all about. I’m just writing about old school Hip Hop I think is worth a damn listen!

So the first album that I want to suggest that you give a listen to is ’21 & Over’ by ‘The Alkaholiks’ aka ‘The Liks’. I first heard their first single ‘Make Room’ on the radio on CKLN. It appeared somewhere there in the mix and I thought it was dope as hell. Later I kept hearing the song in Toronto at any bar that spun Hip Hop and all my T Dot peeps went crazy when it was played.

R-348202-1379742867-7171.jpeg.jpg
Image Source

21 & Over is The Alkaholiks debut album and was released In 1993 on August 24th. The group hail from Los Angeles, Californias is comprised of three members, Emcees J-Ro, Tash and DJ E-Swift. They were discovered by King Tee, one of Compton’s first Emcees. Production was handled by The Alkaholiks, King Tee, Derick "D. Pimp" Williams and the Lootpack, who also appear on the album. I’d put my money on the fact that it was properly Madlib who did most of the production where the Lootpack is mentioned. The album got a lot of play on the radio with it’s three singles ‘Make Room’, ‘Mary Jane’ and ‘Likwit’ but it was hit and miss on the charts. Regardless it launched the Alkaholks’ career and into legendary status.

This album is considered one of the best party albums from the West Coast. I’ve seen them live 3 times, so trust me they can back up that claim. The reason why you should check this album out is because The Alkaholiks embody the fun that the Golden Era of Hip Hop was known for. On the mic Tha Alkaholiks let you know they have come to party with braggadocios rhymes and funny as hell punchlines. Whether they’re taking out wack emcees, chasing girls, snapping on each other, passing out, bullshitting, smoking weed or, of course, drinking they’re faces off, you’re going to find something you’ll like. Think of it like hearing a story from someone’s youth when they were young and still very stupid. It’s the kind of funny thing you laugh at years down the road.

a2271ae84f0d473a9fda8ad2fb03cb26.jpeg
Image Source

Now it might sound like I’m describing some gangsta type Hip Hop here with the blunts and brews, 21 & Over sounds like party from the first track all the way to the last one. And the what made it so welcomed in 1993 was that Hip Hop, especially in the West Coast, had experienced the first years of gangsta rap. The Alkaholiks made it ok to live on the West Side and party all night without having to claim what gang you ran with. Think of 21 & Over as a frat boy party without macho jocks, with music you actually like and the hosts are making sure your enjoying yourself as you pledge your allegiance to the fraternity of good times and Hip Hop.

When it comes to rhyming The Alkaholiks always had lyrics and always came fresh and witty. The album is worth a listen to see what the rhyme styles were like back in the early 90s. While a little aged, J-Ro and Tash’s lyrics are still full of energy. If you want to see what I’m talking about, here’s a sample from J-Ro’s verse on their first single ‘Make Room’

I knock em knock em out the park when other rappers are hitting bunts
I'm a togger not a fogger step on hunts and don't do stunts
I got SOUL POWER never took a cold shower
Never had a girlfriend the color of cooking flour
You can call me sleazy cuz my rhymes are kinda greasy
Some brothers wear curls, cuz it ain't easy being peasy
Like a Kung-Fu flick, I stick you in the dick, with my toothpick
Tell em Rick ("You hit them harder than a fuckin brick”)

And then Tash,

So fools can here me mic checkin', all the way in China
The skills you can't front on, Tha Alkaholik rhymer
Could rip a show up, toe up so I always flex my talents
But my words don't be slurrin', I never lose my balance
But that's 'cuz I'm slick tossin' bottles like a discus
The Liks could rock a party from Halloween to Christmas
That's why I'm screamin' on MCs like I'm Onyx
I'm hooked on gin and tonics like your momma's Hooked on Phonics.

And of course the beats. You can hear the East Coast influence with a lot of heavy sampling ranging from horns, break beats, old funk riffs and some vocal samples from other rappers. You can hear some West Coast flavour sprinkled here and there in the music with some sounds and samples that have become associated with the West Coast sound. There are a few samples like the break-beats used on 21 & Over that had been heard before on some Hip Hop albums. Even so they production efforts here make it all the songs sound dope, fresh and even arguable better than the song that sampled it first. E-Swift and the rest of the production team are no joke as the beats are hard and funky.

ca6333fb2cc547f5c7ce57dde5f5d3f5.png
Image Source

So if you want to know what a good Hip Hop party album sounded like, 21 & Over is your joint. I’m sure that the videos that you see today’s rappers in look fun as hell, but the Alkaholiks did it without a big budget, a VIP pass or a dress code. All they need was two turntables, microphones and a stage in a old bar or someone’s backyard. And of course an open bar.

Peace!

Steem Sig.jpg

Sort:  

Hi alatomz,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Whoa! Really? That's dope, thanks!!

Hip hop happened without my awareness. I was busy working and raising a family and living in a backwoods sort of place, so it's fun to read your memories!

Glad you like! I didn't drink as much as the Liks back in the day, so most of my memories are intact, so more to come!

Kudos on sharing those classics!

And more to come! As for what, depends what I pull out of the crate with my eyes closed...

Word up! Keep'em comin

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @djlethalskillz from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Day by day I am learning about all the things that help one's posts. Thanks for this!

Congratulations @alatomz! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alatomz! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thankyou Thankyou Thankyou!!

YO! I'm a bit late to the party.. MAKE ROOM!

AHahaha This is awesome!

I have to ask though, where are the clips!!! Just listen to this, oh yeah I can't wait let me get my head phones on......no clips!

I love ya for trying, bring some youtubes on the next one. I'll follow you to make sure you figure it out ;p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93