Exploring Mount Penteli in Athens,Greece

in #hiking5 years ago

on the path to the summit 2 facebook.JPG

Hello,

Yesterday i went for a hike/run on mount Penteli.
Let me share with you some photos...

The Beginning Of The Path To Agios Loukas Chapel...

1 steemit.JPG

It's located on the Street Konstantinoupoleos&Vosporou at the Dionysos area.

Following the Path...

agios loukas path 1.JPG

agios loukas path 2.JPG

Open Museum Of Traditional Quarry Art...

open museum of traditional quarry art.JPG

DSC02487.JPG

Agios Loukas Chapel...

ΑΓΙΟΣ ΛΟΥΚΑΣ 2.JPG

ΑΓΙΟΣ ΛΟΥΚΑΣ 1.JPG

Following Another Path That Leads To 2 Chapels "Agios Nikitas" and "Profitis Elias"...

to agios nikitas and profitis Ilias.JPG

cross.JPG

Agios Nikitas Chapel...

ΑΓΙΟΣ ΝΙΚΗΤΑΣ.JPG

Forest Paths...

forest path 1.JPG

forest path 2.JPG

Profitis Elias Chapel...

ΠΡΟΦΗΤΗΣ ΗΛΙΑΣ.JPG

ΠΡΟΦΗΤΗΣ ΗΛΙΑΣ 2.JPG

Returning From The Chapels...

returning from the small churches 1.JPG

returning from the small churches 2.JPG

To The Summit...

to the summit.JPG

On The Path To The Summit...

on the path to the summit 1.JPG

on the path to the summit 3 steemit.JPG

on the path to the summit 4.JPG

on the path to the summit 5.JPG

Approaching The Summit...

approaching the summit 1.JPG

approaching the summit 2.JPG

approaching the summit 3.JPG

The Summit at 1109m...

summit at 1109m.JPG

Some Views From The Summit...

summit view 1.JPG

summit view 2.JPG

summit view 3.JPG

Descent...

descent.JPG

Sunset...

sunset 1.JPG

sunset 2.JPG

sunset 3.JPG

In that point i was hurried and began to run because it began to get dark,but that was a mistake because i lost the right descent path.
After 15 minutes i thought that something is going wrong,so i walked back and i searched for the right one.
I found it after 1 hour ,but i lost it again ,because i passed a crossroad without signs on the rocks...
It was very dark,but fortunately my headlamp had new batteries and finally i found the path.
After 1 hour i made it to return...

The 4 mistakes i made...

1.I began my hike at afternoon on paths i followed for the first time.
2.I was hurried and not concentrated and i lost the path
3.I was running for 15 minutes without seeing signs on the rocks
4.I was alone

I am still angry with myself because i ran/hike on the mountains since 2013 and these mistakes are unforgivable for a experienced mountaineer like me.

To remember this bad night and how stupid i was, i took this failed photo...

The Dancing Lights...

dancing lights steemit.JPG

I will learn from my mistakes and i will be more careful for now on...

thanks for stooping by
@mariossap

Sort:  

I'm sorry to hear that you got lost but luckily you found your way in the end. I never hike alone as I'm scared something like that would happen to me and I would panic and never find my way back. I even don't go alone to the forest :)

It's a beautiful place with amazing landscape and great views. And I love that sunset :)

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote!

thank you! :)

Hi mariossap,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I love the last part of your article. Hehehe, you are human. You started hiking late and I guess that was unusual to you. The day was getting dark and you were at the Summit as at that moment, which I guessed was unusual to you again, so you tried to get to safety as quickly as possible, quite wise. Everyday we learn a lesson and I suppose you have learned yours 🙂. It was a very interesting article, I enjoyed it greatly.

Keep up the great work @mariossap

thank you very much! i'm glad you liked it :)
i have done some hiking at night but on very familiar paths ,which are very well marked...
On this one i was for the first time, and i became anxious when it was getting dark...
i didn't calculate the time well. it was a mistake to explore new paths at afternoon.
i learned the lesson,that's for sure!
thanks again my friend!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Wow but what an amazing tour! The photos are great, super cute and those monuments must have a lot of history! I love ittttt

thanks! i'm glad you liked it! :)

Hi @mariossap. I have always wanted to go to Greece, it is one of those dreams that one must fulfill and someday I will. Thank you for the photographic walk that also had its sunset and "dancing lights". The advice you provide in this publication is good and timely, especially the fact of going for a walk for the first time and doing it late and alone. I always go out with a map (maybe there is some guide for walking on Mount Penteli). I ask you: in the photograph of the Chapel there is a bell. If you touch it, is there someone who speaks of the Chapel or the bell is only decorative?

thank you very much! i wish you to visit Greece soon :)
There are a few guides for mount Penteli ,but the paths are not well marked.
I suggest you to prefer the mount Parnitha for more and better marked paths,when you visit Athens.
The bell is working fine,but i don't think that someone will be there. These chapels are closed and i think are open for special cases.

I'm happy with just a map. Thanks for the advice of mount Parnitha. I am sure that at some point I will visit Athens and remember your photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68296.35
ETH 3839.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64