You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hiking to the Top of a 600-Foot Rock: My Labor Day at Stone Mountain

in #hiking7 years ago

Looks like some great views of the park. How long did it take you to climb? There are numerous mountains nearby my place that can be climbed in less that 4 hours, but my favourite hike is along the coast where they tore up old train tracks and made it into a walking path that stretches about 10k along the coast, not to difficult a hike but still leaves you sweating.

Sort:  

This particular trip I was with my wife and her brother, so we were able to keep up a pretty good pace. We made it up the mountain (3.75 miles, 800 foot elevation gain) in about 75 minutes. Google Fit said we averaged 2.97 mph. On the way down took a bit longer just because we stopped a few times to see views and the waterfall. Around 80 minutes. Probably the fastest I've ever done it. Normally I'm with a group of people who need a bit more time.

So around 7.3 miles in 2 hours and 35 minutes. I like hikes under 4 hours. I've got another one I might post about soon that I went on last fall and might go on again soon.

"...where they tore up old train tracks..."

Sounds like a great use of an old railroad bed. That sounds like a fun hike for sure. Thanks for your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52