Three mountain summits

in #hiking5 years ago (edited)

image

Today I challenged myself to reach three Munros and cover 23 km. I took me 9 h to complete the hike. The weather was just right overcast and no wind. The cluster of mountains is called Beinn a'Ghlo meaning the hill of mist.

image

There was a little lake with some swans at the car park.

image

image

image

The summit is somewhere there.

image

I gain the height fast.

image

image

image

The first Munro peak.

image

With some spectacular views.

image

image

That's the ridge to follow to the next one.

image

After decent and another ascent here I am at Carn nan Gabhar meaning the rocky hill of the goats.

image

image

image

image

I need to drop the height again. I came across a spring. This is how mighty rivers start.

image

A view for the cairngorm national park.

image

And the last push.

image

image

Here we are top of Braigh Coire Chruinn-bhalgain.

image

image

image

image

Now just a very long navigational challenging route back.

image

image

Hometime to see @gguy773 has for yummy dinner for me. It's very late now.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Wow, awesome images!!! I love them all.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @highlandwalker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Espectacular! Good work and nice pics!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awesome stuff!

I think I may just have a new favourite hill name in 'the rocky hill of the goats'! Just wish I knew how to say it!

My other fave is Pen yr Helgi Du in North Wales which translates to 'head of the black hound'.

I'd love to name a summit. I wonder if there's any left unclaimed? Antarctica maybe...

Gealic names are so funny. The pronunciation is even funnier . Thank you.

You got a 7.00% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @highlandwalker! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61795.04
ETH 3458.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52