Four mountain climb

in #hiking5 years ago (edited)

image

Today I decided to challenge myself to complete the 4 mountain circuit trail that covers 26 km and will involve 1500 ascent across boulders, bog, swamps and a 12 km ridge walk.
It started on a very easy wood track.

image

I am sure that I can spot some snow on the peaks, hopefully not too much as I only took the basic ice spikes with me.
There is a river to cross.

image

image

The track carries on steady up the slope.

Now I have to abandon the pleasant comfort of the path and traverse across the moorland onto the shoulder of the hill.

image

After a very steep climb, we reached the plateau and can see my first destination. Beinn Liath Mhor Fannaich which means the big grey hill of Fannaich and belongs to the Scottish Munros - the highest mountains (over 3000 feet).

image

On top of Beinn Liath, I can see my next destination Sgurr Mor which in Gaelic means the big peak as it is the highest mountain in the region (1110m).

image

The views are a wee bit hazy today.

image

image

After a steep descent with a lot of boulders, I start climbing up again.

image

image

I found a stone shelter build only with flat stones for those caught up in severe weather conditions.

image

Not far now...

image

The very windy summit!

image

This is the route we came.

image

This is the route we head on.

image

image

Across the very extensive and spectacular ridge.

image

image

Another descent and climb onto the 3rd summit of Meal Gorm - The Blue Hill.

image

image

image

Another descend.

image

image

To reach the cairn of the last summit of An Coileachan and the very tricky and lengthy descent down the steep boulders.

image

image

After a wee break at the Loch Gorm

image

We reached the very extensive boggy and swampy moorland

image

The sun will be setting soon, and we have been hiking over 10 hours now.

image

Another two rivers to cross and back onto the path.

image

image

As the sun goes down...

image

image

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

What a beautiful land and rocks and streams. This is one of the best ways to spend one's time

Thank you. It keeps me sane and makes me happy.

I love your highland(s), it is beautiful! Particularly that there are parts that are snow capped. I could drink in that area where water is flowing.

Thank you I love walking up the mountains it gives me the purpose in life.

Indeed, that´s a place to contemplate the reason why we are on earth. Me too, I love the mountains. We live up the mountains of Andalucia, Southern Spain.

They give you a sense of being alive .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70