Hiking Suikerboschfontein - Part 7 - Slippery when wet.

in #hiking8 years ago

The variety on this hike is amazing but I have always been a sucker for indigenous forest, which is quite plentiful in the gorges of the escarpment.

Below shows the grassland ridges where you do some walking, but a fair portion of the time is spent in the riverine forest gorges and taking in the view from the cliffs above.

There are some steep sided canyons with fast flowing streams in the upper reaches.

The rocks have some algal sections and care must be taken not to slip, with signage and ropes provided in precarious places.

There are plenty of waterfalls at regular intervals as the streams and river erode their way through alternating hard and soft layers of rock.

Ladders are provided to help hikers traverse the more impossible parts and ensure safety.

The vegetation is exquisite, with many stately and ancient trees. below them are many different varieties of shrubs and bushes, among my favorite are the tall and beautiful tree ferns like the one pictured below.

At least three meters in height.

To be continued...

Sort:  

I love hiking. thanks for share you story @gavvet
I challenges you to hiking in the mountains along the field clump Kuta Malaka. Aceh-Sumatra.


This location :) :)

I'll have to check it out...

@gavvet I love hiking more so if its an extra- challenge like this - so far away from the city noise, just me and the voice of nature around me hmmmm~~~:)

Hi @gavvet
The scenery is just amazing, I also love those big tree ferns.

That must have been an awesome experience!

Hi @gavvet
Nice post
I like hiking and vacations too
Can you please tell which season is best to go there and which season are these pics taken....looking forward for more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57515.20
ETH 2438.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34