THE RICH KIDS' HIGH SCHOOL (Chapter 2) short fiction story

in #highschool6 years ago

The setting of this story is Lagos State, Nigeria.
image
Chapter Two

"It's okay" I sat up straight, still sitting on my bed. Her eye brows shot up, as if she recognized someone. "Suzy right? I mean the new girl who got a scholarship?" She asked impatiently, looking curious.
"Yes" I slowly replied. How come she knew about me. She just mentioned my name. "Sorry, have we met before?" i asked, feeling surprised. "Oh no!" She slapped my lap, grinning at me. I couldn't help but smile back. She's just meeting me for the first time and felt so relaxed talking to me. She flashed her pearly white teeth, grinning at me. "I won't ever forget his face, especially when he won't stop talking about you. I'm sure he can't wait to see how beautiful you look for real"
"About me?" I mumbled giving her a confused look.
Realizing she just spilled a bean, she immediately kept shut and shook her head. "Oh, sorry! I mean I can't ever forget the beautiful new girl everyone talks about". I was feeling curious "And?...." I was about to ask about the 'he that can't wait to meet me', when she jumped into the conversation again. "Yes! I mean he..the principal can't wait to meet you" she said, shooting a wink at me. "I'm Victoria Stephen. It's nice meeting you." She got up. "Suzy James. It's my pleasure" I replied, staring at her beautiful dark skin. As she was leaving, the two girls talking earlier greeted her, while a girl who walked in excitedly greeted with a broadly smile on her face. Victoria just waved at them walking away.
I let out a small chuckle. The girl was sweet and friendly, but a little bit garrulous. She has to learn how to keep her mouth shut. I know she wasn't telling the truth. There's something more about what she said she heard about me, but what has she heard about me? Who is she by the way? I felt she's kind of special and would love to know why? Well, since everyone has been talking about the new girl, here they have the new girl sitting here in room six.
I got up and sort out my note books and textbooks. I realized I needed to find someone who's also in science class. Especially the class I was put in. SS2A (second senior class). The time table was actually what I wanted, so I could sort out the notes needed for tomorrow's class. I debated who to go to, and decided to go to the girl in glasses. She seem reserved, and someone who reads just like me.
"Hi," I greeted, as I got to her. She looked up at me, and smiled a little.
"Hi, what can I do for you?" Her voice sounded really good, cheering me up.
"I'm new here-" I began, but she cut me off.
"I know. Just tell me how I can help you."
Wow! These rich kids have their style of speaking.
Adding more stress to my intonation to sound really good.
"Okay," I muttered. "I'm actually looking for someone in SS2A who can allow me copy the class time table".
She smiled. "It's okay, I'm in SS2A. Have your seat". She offered me her bed, as she got up, opening her locker, then brought out the time table.
"Here it is, take." She stretched the time table at me. I collected it with a smile.
"I'm Suzy James. Nice meeting you." I introduced myself, getting a hand shake from her.
"It's kunmi David. It's my pleasure." She added, with a smile on her lips.
I went back to my corner and sat on my bed, as I began to copy it inside one of my rough notes. I packed the notes for tomorrow inside my bag and immediately returned the time table back immediately i was done copying it. I sat back on her bed, and decided to have a little chat with her.
"Sorry kunmi, My Mom never said anything about house wear. Where can I collect mine?" I asked, glancing at the two girls I saw earlier fully dressed in mufty.
She smiled lightly, closing her book. "House wear?" She repeated, sitting comfortably. "Hope you brought some clothes, cause, here we don't make use of house wear." She smiled at me.
I see.. That explained the reason why Mom packed lot of clothes for me, including my sisters expensive clothes. Thank God they put on school uniform, because I wouldn't have believed that this is a school. It was a lot different from other schools I know. My former hostel itself has its own house wear.
Around seven in the evening, a loud bell rang from distance, jolting me from my thoughts. Kunmi got up and tapped me.
"Let's go for dinner," she said.
I got up too. "So, that bell says it's time for dinner?"
"Yes." She parked her books aside.
I took my spoon and cup like she did and slowly followed beside her. More students came out of their room, all in mufti of different colours and designs. I followed quietly beside kunmi as everyone was staring at me. We made our way out of the hostel, straight to the hall I saw earlier. I looked to my side and saw the boys walked out from a small gate which led to their hostel.
Everyone entered the hall, lined up serving themselves. A smile appeared on my face. This was exactly what I wanted. Where I could serve myself the quantity that would satisfy me. It was nothing like my former hostel where you're served small quantity by those kitchen women. Immediately kunmi was done serving, I turned to see the quantity she took, but ehnnn.. I quickly checked around, and I saw some with small quantity. Smaller than what I was given in my former hostel, as if someone was holding their hands, beating them not to take the food at all. Suzy, the rich don't eat! A voice in my head told me. It's a lie. I wouldn't believe that. Kunmi was waiting for me to serve. When it got to my turn, the jollof rice was staring at me to take as I want to. But as I looked around, everyone was with little. I have no choice than to serve myself little rice and find myself one of the biggest chicken.
"Is that okay for you?" Kunmi gave me a look.
"Very much okay." I lied.
I couldn't start acting like a glutton. I got chilled water and followed behind Kunmi as we took our seats at a corner. I was expecting the hall to be quiet, but some were not even eating, as they were busy laughing, gisting, and doing all sort of things. I guess that was the only time they get to talk to each other except school. I couldn't stop staring. I glanced around, eating my food slowly, until my eyes landed on a table. Everything about the people at the table was different. From their clothes to their wrist watch, sandals, and everything they put on. I could recognize some, which I knew was very expensive. It was then I realized that most of the girls were staring at them, even some of the boys. They seem bothered by what one of them was saying. They were busy laughing and pressing their phones.
Two girls joined the three guys at the table, sitting with them. I recognized one of the girls. It was the girl I met earlier. Victoria Stephen. One of the boys stopped laughing and caught me staring at them. I slowly raised my hand to say hi, but a small smile appeared on his face as he looked away, mocking me. Kunmi saw me and turned to the direction I was looking at, because she was sitting with her back to them.
"Who did you greet?" She asked.
"The guy in blue shirt," I replied.
"Victor!" She said, mentioning the guy's name.
"Yes, the guy in blue shirt. You mean his name is Victor?" I asked once again to be sure of what she said. She nodded. "Victor Stephen, the elder brother to the girl you met this afternoon."
"What?" My mouth gaped open. I was surprised. Kunmi smiled. "Well, that's the star boy of Crown School, so don't expect him to talk to you. He doesn't really make friends except his old friends and cousins."
"Why?" I looked curious. "But his sister is nice, and friendly."
"That says the reason why everyone wants to be her friend." Kunmi reasoned.
"And him?"
"Well, maybe because his Dad owns the school."
"Hmm" I stared at Kunmi to repeat what she just said.
She laughed at me a little. "Suzy, I said his father owns the school." She collected the spoon that was hanging up to my mouth, laughing at me. "You see, you can't expect him talking to just anyone."
"Just anyone," I repeated to myself. I could hear his laughter from distance. Rowdy and full of fun. I see why everyone was being nice to his sister. But his sister was sweet. Why was he the cocky one? I took a quick look at him and saw him watching me. Immediately, I looked away.
"So, what class is he?"
Kunmi smiled at me, giving me a look. "You seem interested. Don't tell me you're falling for him already." She teased, and winked at me. I laughed for the very first time. I didn't know she was this funny because she looked and acted so cool. The bookworm are always having fun with their books. I guess I was wrong. I adjusted my glasses. She had dropped hers in the room, giving me the access to see how big her eye balls were, with her round face. I agreed that black is beauty, because Kunmi looked so beautiful, and her gap tooth fitted her really good. Not too tall and not too short.
"Me? Fall for that cocky guy? He's not even handsome." I suppressed my smile.
Kunmi laughed. I actually didn't know why she laughed, but I just stared at her. "Ahhh!" She said through her smile. "I can't believe you've watched him to that extent of knowing he's really handsome." She said with a sarcastic smile, and I burst into laughter. I knew she was teasing. "I never said he was handsome." I said with my white teeth wide open, as I couldn't contain my laughter. "Oh, you mean he is cute." She said, and couldn't hold her smile either.
"Kunmi stop!" I said with a grin. "I meant to say he's just okay." She winked at me. "That's acceptable" she gave a broad smile.
"So what class?" I quickly asked, before the topic was closed.
"He is in ss3 (highest senior class) while his sister is our mate. She's in ss2," she explained.
"That's cool, I like her" I picked up my spoon to continue eating. "Yes," Kunmi joined me, as she continued with her food also. "Everyone likes her, she is friendly."
I couldn't deny the fact that I like Kunmi already. She is warm and free to talk to. I am happy to finally have a friend I could talk to.

Photo credit: https://www.pexels.com
Click here to view and read the chapter one of this story chapter 1 in case you missed it.
Chapter 3 will be ready and posted this midweek
image
Feel free to follow, upvote, resteem and drop your comments.
https://steemit.com/@sochimasazzy

Sort:  

Congratulations @sochimasazzy! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

And I'm just getting all nostalgic about highschool...😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62