What Does Your Hideout Look Like?

in #hiding7 years ago

I have yet to properly introduce myself to this community, but here's part of my story and where I'm currently at:

All my life I’ve been hiding behind my parents. Since my mama left when I was 13 years, I’ve been particularly hiding behind my papa. I always thought of it more like I was leaning on him, but it truth I’ve been hiding.

Being that my papa was quite successful (which my mama is too) and had great influence in the whole community, I felt much more comfortable hiding out. It was always this feeling of I could turn to him if and when I needed help or just someone that would listen. Most of the times he’d find a solution and he would ALWAYS make me laugh on top of it. It’s what most parents do. They always work on providing support for their children.

IMG_0684.jpg

In truth, I may have been leaning on him, but mostly I’ve been hiding behind him. Allowing his light to shine for me. All. My. Life.
Why haven’t I allowed my own light to shine? I’ve always known I had the strength to do it. There even been times my papa’s successful friends have tried to push me. The reason I have allowed myself to hide out is simply because of fear of the unknown. I then believed I could never be as good as them. So much so that I didn’t even try it out. On top of that, I have been quite comfortable hiding out.

Thing is, I’ve missed out. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had great opportunities in life that I DID take and I do appreciate it all, but there has also been opportunities I’ve missed out on living in my comfort zone. Hiding.

This insight on myself is providing an enormous relief and in honesty I’m struggling to put words to it.

So here I am.

Hello world, this is me calling :) Ready to truly adventure, ready to explore, ready to get to know you and about the many more things out there in life.

Scared? Absolutely. A bit at least. Yet much more thrilling to get to know the real me, what it is she wants to do, and more so to find out what she can accomplish. Having the courage to allow me to be me. Everything is getting better.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @jennyadventurer :)

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping @reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

Congratulations @jennyadventurer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @jennyadventurer! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74