Places of a time past ...

Disney's California Adventure Theme Park hosted the Hollywood Tower Hotel "Twilight Zone Tower of Terror" from 2004 to 2017 which means unless you have access to the vault you'll never see this scene again ...

20150118_182909.jpg

This eerie eagle was the centerpiece of the hotel lobby, where if you looked closely also held a first edition copy of L Frank Baum's Wizard of Oz. The tower has been replaced with an equally thrilling free fall attraction based on the Guardian's of the Galaxy.

The L Frank Baum connection is no coincidence...

L._Frank_Baum_1911.jpg
Credit wikipedia

Although Warner Brothers released the original motion picture "The Wizard of Oz", Disney released many projects in the Oz franchise including "Oz The Great and Powerful" a 2013 Disney feature film. My own connection with the Baum legacy is my hometown of San Diego County. L Frank Baum spent several nights at the Hotel Del Coronado while he composed the masterpiece we are so familiar with today.

Remember, all things in this world are temporary, appreciate them while you can and take pictures. Look closely at the world around you and you will discover the little threads that connect everything ...

Sort:  

Heyy really nice post:) It was verry useful.Please check my little journey that I made soon. I hope you enjoy my photos. @nakedchef89

https://steemit.com/history/@nakedchef89/what-is-the-oldest-civilization-on-earth

Thank you, and I've been following you for a bit. If I accidentally dropped you I'll add you back. I just did some housecleaning :)

Wait what?? They replaced the tower of terror? Thats madness! Luckily they still have it running in Paris. Did three consecutive rides a few months ago...loved it!

It's very similar mechanically, but now it's "Guardians Tower"

I loved the theme man, nothing will beat that

I can't disagree, but Disney tries to stay "fresh" and appeal to younger audiences. The older ones tend to die off

Well you're right about that, too bad they would sacrifice something else instead of making something new though

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60385.18
ETH 2658.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47