You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Much Are @dragonslayer109's Hidden Gems Worth? And To Whom?

you forget to take into account that it is to help get your posts shown I spend 8-10 hours looking for posts. many thank me for the opportunity to get featured and seen... most posts would get next to nothing without my help so if you didnt like what I have done and didnt want to get featured then say so . and no a link is not a comment spam when it is there to help your post out

Sort:  

I was under the impression that you shared the SBD with the authors, and knowing that you do not changes my perception of what you're doing, to be honest. That's neither good or bad, because what I think about what you're doing doesn't matter.

Keep in mind that if you shared the SBD you'd still be getting Steem Power for yourself, as well as name recognition and increased reputation. If you think that your time putting the post together is worth 100% of the rewards, then that's fine I guess.

It remains to be seen that your efforts consistently bring exposure to the authors featured. If that is the case, then that's great!

This is how it works with the Steemit Photo Challenge. The majority of the SBD, plus donations, are converted to Steem and given away as prizes, upwards of 300 Steem every single week. The rewarded (7 people, usually) do what they want with their prizes, cash out or power up. Much of the time @berniesanders goes and upvotes winning submissions and comments as well to spread the love. I get to keep the Steem Power and I keep a bit of the Steem generated from the rewards for my time. That is the way I choose to do it, give away most of it.

You should be rewarded for highlighting actual hidden gems, but it should also bring direct value and exposure to those featured. There's a happy balance somewhere in there, I think.

You featured me today too. I would be ok with it if you shared all the SBD with the authors, and stopped featuring authors who are not hidden gems. I don't personally want to take the place of another author who could do with the exposure...

There is value to this kind of work, I have seen one of @biophil posts, and that set up seems far more reasonable and fair. If @dragonslayer109 sees this, your success won't continue if you carry with your current set up, however a small change could solidify your place on Steemit for the long haul...

I want every user to find a home on Steemit, there is still a home here for @dragonslayer109.

+1 to this. As @bacchist stated, we believe your intentions were pure when you started, but now it seems you are sloppy and greedy.

Pay out the sbd to the authors, feature posts that haven't picked up steam (pun intended), and everyone will appreciate your work a lot more.

6 of the 8 posts (including mine) were posted to #2000SP. You obviously just took them and slapped your post together.

Is #2000SP some kind of double secret probation chat room for people with 2000SP or more? I have 2,500SP but have never heard of it ... my invite must have gotten lost in the mail ;)

Did you just not see my questions or do you choose to ignore them? Thanks.

Oh hey, I didn't mean to ignore you. It's some private channel on the RocketChat. Somebody just added me to it one day.

No worries, thanks. I think it's one of the symptoms of what's broken with SteemIt that people with 2000SP need to go post their articles in a secret channel that they have to be invited to - instead of people following users with 2000SP and upvoting their stuff. Further, you have to be "in the club" and invited by someone - simply earning your way past 2000SP isn't enough. I mean, it's a blockchain .... the fact that whoever has 2000SP or more is public knowledge and, IMO, it shouldn't be "necessary" to also go pimp your post in a secret channel.

wow - @dragonslayer - thank you for making my post a "hidden gem". It really helped put me on the map. It amazes me how people look for a negative motive - leftover scarcity from the indoctrination, surely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60007.10
ETH 2415.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41