You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF21: What Makes Steem Valuable?

in #hf215 years ago

This is very abstract. I'm looking for a clear reason why a person/business/organization/etc would want to buy STEEM for something that isn't speculation or "because I can earn more STEEM".

For some examples, someone might say:

  • I bought Bitcoin because my local currency is being debased and the government confiscates precious metals.
  • I bought Ether because I want to use decentralized applications that run on the platform and that requires ETH to pay gas fees.
Sort:  

I bought steem because I want to have more influence in the core social game (whose incentives have now been addressed to make things more fun)

May not be the motivation for everyone, but it's there. And the usual benefits of steem vs others but who is really using those as reasons.

I'd argue the Bitcoin reason is also highly speculative.

No one buys bitcoin for reasons like that. Everyone buys bitcoin because it may go up in value and make them money.

This isn't rocket science.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44