Reviewing where the top witnesses stand on HF21

in #hf215 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Reviewing where the top witnesses stand on HF21


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

Cheers - will edit when I get back from my run!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll edit and add this in. Wrote this yesterday so missed yr most recent!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. I almost called out the top witnesses also, as you did, but I realize many of them have been talking about this stuff for months in comments. Still though, I think they should at least put out a root post. Witnesses, IMO, should use the platform and post regularly.

At least a post outlining briefly where they stand on the different aspects of HF21.

I was honestly just reviewing my witness votes and thought I'd have a look at where the T20 all stood on HF21 and was expecting to find clear statements, I didn't - As you say, I had to dig around comments for a lot of them, it's just not good enough.

That post of your is excellent btw, one to read later though as it's so in-depth. I'm in the middle of something else right now!

Thanks for this. It's important to know the witnesses who speak up. If they don't have a statement or didn't fill out @cervantes survey, I ain't voting for them (I'll make an exception for people against because they said something.

I looked into @clayop's HF21 post, it's here: https://steemit.com/kr/@clayop/hf21

He mentioned that SPS only takes from posts and not other areas, also it's a little much in general.

He says he was 1 of 4 witnesses against SPS .
(저는 포함한 4명은 컨텐츠 보상 감소를 최소화하고 SPS 비율을 적게 가져가자는 쪽이었습니다.)

He explained a little about 2e12 curve, saying it's unfair for small posts and quite good for large posts. He added a little math, but that's covered in English posts on the subject.

If the math is accurate curve is a little too wide [unfair].
(만약 이러한 계산이 맞다면 저는 패널티를 주는 구간이 너무 넓다고 봅니다.)

He doesn't really get into other parts of EIP in that post.

He has written about EIP before, but, I'm too lazy to go over them in detail(my Korean is only alright), but he isn't too concerned one way or the other, he is more interested in dealing with the changes for curation and avoiding flag wars in his community.

He ends by saying he will relay the information other witnesses give to the Korean community and vice versa.

My opinion:
Korean's aren't too worried about being downvoted by non-Korean readers, if you downvote someone because they are using a language you don't understand you are probably deserving of what is coming.
Maybe they will start attacking abuse of the -kr tag by people who can't use Korean?

Thanks for the translation, most of them have made some sort of statement in fairness, hopefully a few will drop in links here to where they've commented on the issue but I just haven't seen it - @gtg just did.

Cheers for this! It was very useful!

Thanks for collating these posts - it would be good to have comments from the witnesses deciding if the next fork is happening or not.

Luke has posted recently, and it's pretty clear where he stands: https://steemit.com/hf21/@lukestokes/hf21-what-makes-steem-valuable

Which is more than can be said for mr 'random thoughts' up there.

edit: Just seen that holger has linked Lukes post on the subject.

Thanks.

Thanks for link I will edit!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for compiling this as I am working to get backbon track after my vacation! I gave up on having an opinion on HF 21 as things will happen no matter what and what is left for me to do is just adapt. However, I strongly agree that witnesses must be accountable for their actions and ensuring that this is not another HF 20 in its deployment. Wait and see mentality as I look through the details to prepare for adjustments.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You are bang on. If we don't know what they stand for them how can they be accountable to stakeholders. I had a similar conversation over the last few days and this point is a very good one.

A top level post from each would be a great idea.

The way I look at it, this HF21 is way too much of a gamble which might as well turn out for the worse. Great info on reviewing where the witnesses stand. Pretty much the only thing we can do as a community is vote based on that.

Although it's tough cookie of you're not for HF21!

Posted using Partiko Android

I think the Hf21 is really a dicey issue and some of the witnesses may not want to be so open about theirs stances because of the public opinionated uproar of people on the disadvantageous effect of the Hf, well exactly I do think they should be open so we'd know who the real people we should keep on top with our votes because I do believe core value of Steem needs to be upholded

Quite possibly - I hadn't thought of that! I might also be being naive in assuming that people are truthful in blog posts! Still, I'm trying to be positive about this.

Damn straight! I think a lot of witness will still like to keep their seats at the top, so open mindedness may jeopardize this because believe me 65% of people here hates this Hf

You got a 32.76% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @revisesociology! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi, @revisesociology!

You just got a 1.33% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @revisesociology!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.962 which ranks you at #1146 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1147).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 182 contributions, your post is ranked at #16.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61436.18
ETH 2381.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55