You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #NewSteem is Live

in #hf215 years ago (edited)

@steemitblog @steemit @steemitteam @steem
Firstly, congratulations to everyone who worked on this, regardless of the accepted or unaccepted changes that the community may agree or disagree with, work was done on HF and the transition was executed fairly smoothly.

After reading the comments below, I decided to take a step back and just look at the platform as a whole, not taking into account the new rules regarding votes and voting power and allocation and distribution of funds in whatever format the #newsteem has been implemented.

I realised that we as the @steemit community all come from other Social media platform giants(who's names shall not be mentioned) who have taken our information posts and personal life contribution, which we handed over and gave away freely for years by the way, and they abused and used for their own financial gain and platform enrichment by selling your information to big corporates without so much as a thank you, much less a reward for the content contribution made.

In light of that, I come to realised that instead of complaining about getting 1 cent for the contributions I make here, I should really be thankful that I get any reward at all, since all the other social media platforms (who's names shall not be mentioned) simply don't bother giving back anything to their users and contributors.

Just my 2 cents.

Happy Steeming everyone, I sincerely hope somehow it all works out in the end. I will continue contributing to the platform in however small a way I can, as I believe in the platform and everyone on it.

Let's try not to forget where we come from. Just a thought.

Sort:  

You don't have two cents anymore. One of them just went to the whales.

HF21 is the straw that will break the camel's back.

SteemitInc...while pretending to want to do something about spammers (when simple warning messages, and then communitized major downvotes against repeat offenders, would have worked easily) has just said "We don't want any newbies hanging around."

I hear you. And I am a tad bit disappointed too. Was just trying to reflect on a semi brighter side. Not sure what can be done at this stage other than to work the system. As I said I truly believe in @steemit and the changes are not ideal but it has been implemented so I guess only time will tell.
Just my revised 1cent.

You are 100% correct

You are 100% astute. Thanks!

Sadly I'm beginning to see it this way too. HF21 so far has cut upvote value in half, which should have been a 15% cut at best if you're going from 75% to 65% of inflation going to the reward pool. There is now a movement underway down voting anyone that asks sensitive questions or voices legitimate concerns about HF21 discrepancies. It's foolish behavior that undermines confidence in the whole ecosystem, and it suggests that steemit inc is insolvent if they can't even be transparent about where the reward pool is actually going.

I thought it was from 75% to 50%, so a 25% reduction? (Still doesn't account for the observed changes.)
Wow, a movement of downvoting concerns about the hard fork? If that's not censorship, what is? Censorship doesn't always happen via government. Anyone can censor. And it's not appreciated one bit.

Yep. Thanks for the reply and concise additional info.

What you say makes sense, I came from facebook in which I write as much as here and don't earn anything for it. But it's still disappointing comparing how the same SP that could earn you $0.02 before the HF, now earns you only $0.01 unless the payout reaches 20 STEEM.

You can always use some bid bots to top up to 20 steem ;) This is what will be rewarded now. Bid bot users and whales.
Everyone else will be penalized for posting not worthy posts.

U don’t get 2 cents anymore
Remember? The fork killed that

As a content creator I assure you that posting on Twitter is far more profitable than posting on Steem. Steem users don't buy things, they only upvote things.

Other networks also build residual income, steem posts are forgotten in a week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01