You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on HF 20 "Velocity"- Yes to tokens, but no to mining.

in #hf207 years ago

To be honest I can't get my head around how everything works on steemit but why steemit has to grow fast? It already created good reputation, bringing too many people will water it down, at least fast influx. I'm here for a month, and when I joined it was good platform, what I noticed is that more people get in less quality content and more spammers you can find. All big social networks didn't become big overnight, and nowadays their content is so dispersed that people give up using them and try to find new social platform.

Sort:  

Yeah, imagine how it feels for someone who's been here for only two months. In such a short time, steemit has been inundated by people who seem to think this is just another social media platform, and that we want spam posts in our feeds that would be totally acceptable on twitter or facebook.

People are coming in with money, and get the mentality that they shouldn't need to try very hard, or they should upvote themselves, because the platform/community owes them an ROI.

And there are people abusing the power they get from bots like @minnowbooster by getting a ton of delegated power, and commenting empty bs, upvoting themselves, but not the posts they're commenting on.

Hey, thanks for the @minnowbooster tip! I'll go and check it out right now! :D

I find it to be a very ridiculous idea. One that can easily be taken advantage of by greedy people who like to upvote their own one sentence comments.

I was trying to be funny. :D

😂

Minnow booster rocks. I leased 700 SP to increase my voting power and don't upvote my own comments. I even just upvoted one of your comments for the lulz.

Full disclaimer: I am a mod at minnowbooster discord and have about 200 Steem invested in the project

That's great that you're using it ethically, but it certainly has the potential for abuse by unscrupulous people, though some would argue that buying power then using it all on one's self isn't against the rules. It may not be, but neither is taking the entire bowl of dinner mints on your way out of the restaurant, or claiming an entire pile of magazines labeled 'free'. But if you wouldn't do one, why is it ok to do another? It's not "against the rules", it's just downright rude, and I don't feel like steemit was created for lazy, greedy people...

Completely agree, but if you're going to blame MinnowBooster, you may as well take it to it's logical conclusion and blame Steemit. It's my view that comment voting shouldn't even be possible - a tipping system would be much fairer. The MB devs didn't design the system to help leeches, but as long as leeching is possible and there are leeches everywhere, there's not much they can do.

I'm not sure exactly how many renters do this, but judging from the support channel, I think it is only a small minority.

@thatsweeneyguy I bet I know who you are talking about that has come in with money....

No one person in particular. It's just a mentality I've seen a few times...

We're on roughly the same track as the other guys. Just is.

@dijana969 @thatsweeneyguy I pretty much agree with your sentiments. The quality has taken a drastic nose dive. These voting pool bots certainly aren't helping with promoting good content. I can comment, after research that one of them is definitely using it as a scheme to siphon off Steem to Bittrex.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.52
ETH 3002.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12