How I experienced a 300 thousand percent increase in the worth of my vote since January with the same amount of SP

in #hf197 years ago (edited)

I'm sure with the implementation of Hard Fork 19, many of us experienced a welcomed boost to the influence of our votes. I was shocked to see my 100% votes jump from giving just over $1 to over $30!

However, for our newer users who haven't been through the Steem dark ages, what you probably don't know is that my 30k SP only yielded 1 cent in January. But the amazing thing is how excited I was when I finally saw my votes worth that 1 cent.

Since I joined Steemit in August last year, I had never seen my votes worth anything. Even when I had worked very hard to get to over 3000 SP, my votes were still only worth a big fat 0 on steemit.com. That's one of the reasons I started using eSteem more for my voting because with eSteem, the payouts showed as $0.000, to the third decimal point. And with my votes back then, I could finally see $0.001 on eSteem.

When the price of Steem declined to around $0.20 in January this year, I finally got the courage to power up 30k SP, because I wanted my votes to be worth at least 1 cent. And that is exactly what I got.

Since then, with the increase in the price of Steem and with the implementation of HF19, the worth of my votes have increased by 300 thousand percent, and I'm so excited that I can see my votes finally making a difference.

So I want to thank all who contributed to building the Steemit community when things were tough, because it was truly the community that kept me going in those dark ages.


IMG_1593.PNG

Follow me @nextgen622 for weekly Ask Steemit contests, interviews and lol moments with my family

Sort:  

Congrars nextgen to get what you should be deserving. I know a lot of people would like to post something and get 100 off the bat. But things doesnt go that way ,and if one day, it goes back to the old days, i will still steem it like you because i eye for long term.

That's a pretty amazing increase in curation power! It must feel really good to be able to support content creators with that kind of value ($30)! I'm sure the next 6 months will be just as interesting, glad to be along for the ride :)

The growth curve is insane in steem! I can't imagine what it was like in January comoared to what it is now. I only wish I was introduced to steem earlier so that I could be more established for times like now! Just have to work my way up there though!

Dark age of Steemit.... This your words I like the most. We saw history )

I just came over here a month ago and love it! My account has gone up a little also. Would love to get the 350 to power up stuck over at poloniex for some reason the wallets have been down all day! Good Luck in the future!

Great job @nextgen622 you worked hard for that so congrats Jimmy!
:0)

No problem @nextgen622. although I lived in Australia for a while and isn't mate for a man? HA I am a woman hee :)

Hehe o I'm sorry. Although mate is usually used by men, Australians often call other people mate regardless whether they are a man or woman. :)

Oh, no problem! I thought maybe you didn't know I was a woman! Mate is fine haha
:)

Well said, Exactly!

Thanks @awgbibb

Great job brother! I'm so happy for you! Very glad to hear that you invested when Steem was only 20 cents! :]

Thanks brother.

I started last week, and still pretty newbie about how everything works here, or if we can really manage to get our steem dolar into real money but i have the confidence it is real, so i hope to be able to grow like you guys did here
thank you!

Congratulations @nextgen622 looks like all your hard work paying off. I was so happy when my vote went from .01c to about .12cents haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55